16 May 2012 12:20 #87156
ANGERED over being owned money for work done, frustrated Guyanese and Jamaican nationals yesterday staged a protest outside the Chancery Lane Complex in San Fernando. The protesters which included four Jamaicans and five Guyanese said they have been living and working in Trinidad under the auspices of the Caricom Single Market and Economy (CSME).
The workers claimed that a contractor who oversaw work at the complex has been giving them “the runaround†for their money.
“We are fed up, we cannot take it any more,†said Guyanese worker Daniel Ramdeen, 50.
Ramdeen a father of three said he did carpentry work for the contractor on the complex. Ramdeen said he has been living in Trinidad since 1992 and has worked with different contractors.
“The work lasted from March until April 5. After that myself and other Guyanese and Jamaican workers were told we would get all our payments.†Ramdeen said that on the last day of work, the sub-contractor collected money from the main contractor but paid the workers “short†and promising to pay the balance by May 10.
“I got $3,800 and he owes me an additional $3,800. Five days have passed since April 10 and we have not yet been paid. We worked hard for this sub contractor and now he does not want to pay us,†Ramdeen complained.
Another worker Marlon Alexander said he feels frustrated and hurt as he put in so much work for nothing. “This man paid me $2,000 and he has $2,500 remaining for me. What kind of person does that to people who worked hard for their money,†Alexander asked.
The group said they are planning to seek legal advice if the sub-contractor does not pay up. An official at the Labour Ministry yesterday confirmed that an investigation is underway.
16 May 2012 14:18 #87173
DEH GOT STIFFED!! :

: :

HOW STIFF WAS IT? :shocked: :shocked: :shocked:
::rofl:: ::rofl:: ::rofl:: ::rofl::
is Trickdydad! deh din hear dat? deh not lissenin'! weh deh from?
dem fellas an' dem sweet yes :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:
I doh know how but they have to make sure deh get paid..or will be paid wen the wuk done. in fact make sure deh get paid weekly or bi weekly...no lump sum at the end..just the remaining wages of a week or so
16 May 2012 14:31 #87175
Trini plantain NOT stiff like GT plantain :
~~ One BG plantain does full up de Pot
So satisfying , especially when Hot ~~