I Whole Fresh Karela/Karile sliced
2 large and Fresh Okra
Fresh Bhagi
Summer Sage

Salmon Sliced longitudinally

Olive Oil
Salt

All save the Garlic, Olive oil and the Salmon grown in my own garden

Heat oil and in with the garlic and sage. Garlic browned add onions sliced. A couple minutes add Karela/karile: Then green beans sliced, along with all the remainder of the greens except the Bhagi which goes in last. add salt to taste. add a bit of water if necessary

when all of those greens are cooked...not long add the Salmon. I roll them up in rounds. The Salmon takes about 3 minutes to be almost done: and now add finally the Bhagi which takes a minute or 2. turn off the heat and let simmer down but not totally cool.

Serve on a plate! with whatever carb that's going on the table. lots of veggies already in there, no need for a salad. I had it with zucchini bread I made myself. I am overflowing with zucchini, making all sorts of things to freeze, preserve etc with zucchini

Wow! Was that ever good
Last edit: 24 Aug 2021 13:32 by Billy Shatine.

24 Aug 2021 08:49 #392406 by Billy Shatine
I also tried an old west Indian/Trinidad and Tobago recipe for soup with zucchini: COW HEEL SOUP!

But I added beef Tripe to that soup: and used zucchini and mushrooms for the soup rather than water. it was thick and rich and finished rather quickly as those I offered bowls polished the soup off quickly

24 Aug 2021 08:54 - 24 Aug 2021 08:54 #392407 by Billy Shatine
.I also made and make and will make all the way until my garden is done:

Beef and Karela/Karile stir fry and stews!
fresh curried cut green beans with chicken and beef
Stewed cut green beans and thinly sliced pork
Last edit: 24 Aug 2021 08:54 by Billy Shatine.

24 Aug 2021 10:28 #392408 by VillageBelle
Nice recipe there Billy.

I have been cooking lots of zucchini too......from my daughter's garden.
For whatever reason I didn't get a single zucchini from my garden, and all the plants died :(

Your zucchini bread is most likely different from the one I make which is more like a carrot cake but with zucchini. Baked 4 batches over this summer.

Also cooked stew/curry zucchini/chicken several times.
Eaten with roti....made with 60/40 wholewheat/unbleached flour

I have to cook roti....all 5 of my grands prefer this to rice!
The following user(s) said Thank You: chairman

24 Aug 2021 10:39 #392410 by chairman
i absolutely love this thread

24 Aug 2021 11:00 #392416 by ketchim
My zucchini is taking forever to grow !....jeeeezzzz

Tomatoes and peppers growing real nice ~

24 Aug 2021 14:10 #392426 by chairman
Brilliant thread

24 Aug 2021 14:21 - 24 Aug 2021 14:36 #392427 by Billy Shatine
your kids have good taste Village Belle..Roti.

I love white roti more than any other. but I cant eat all regular flour roti anymore. unless I succeed making roti with Quinoa flour, mixed with Qats etc., or with Barley or some such I wont be able to eat roti anymore

I find that zucchini as a plant is very versatile when it comes to soils...growing and producing well enough well on a range of soils, from good to poor every summer. if zucchini does not come well in a season it could be due many possibilities, lots that can be avoided if the zucchini spot planted, is rotated every season.

lots of bacteria, pests and predators love zucchini and the big commercial zucchini producers wash them down with chemicals to get good crops every year. then we eat those zucchini when we shop at the supermarket etc. using such chemicals in the home garden does not make sense. but it makes sense to do a little reading about zucchini and what ails it and may attack those you plant in the summer

I find spot rotation to be critical. if you plant zucchini in the same spot each summer that wont help. but it is also helpful to know which plants may be useful to follow zucchini with in a rotation...plants which feed off, or neutralize what harms zucchini and 'cleans' up the spot. I like legumes to follow zucchini.

but to be even more specific it is best to rotate everything in the garden by spot every summer. and what is even more crucial than rotations is soil health. we have to build up the soil all the time and that should be fairly easy the way I do it.

in the fall when the garden is done, mulch it and put the mulch into the soil! mix it in well but make sure the mulch is as fine as you can get it.

all year long the vegetable and carb leavings off the table and in the preparation of meals in the kitchen can also be added to the garden, but not the meat...unless you can render meat right down before you put it into the garden. any kind of meat, even ground or blended meat in a paste, attracts bigger animals which stop at little to get to that spot where they smell the meat, dig-up all the land around where it is buried to get at it. they can do a lot of destruction

but all the plant leavings, roti, rice, bread, veggies etc., can be blended right down and added to the soil. such does not attract animals to dig up the soli and damage the garden. and these rot much easier, faster into the soil when blended, and become nutrient ready for plants next season.

but the more you get that soil nutrient rich the better for your plants. there will be balance all around...the plants would have their best chance to be strong and capable of fighting-off the pest and diseases.

so spot rotation and soil nutrient is key! crucial to garden success.

and remember the soil that people buy every season to add to their garden could also be the problem why zucchini plants for example do not grow well, do not produce food...that and spot rotation are my 2 key factors of failure. the people who sell soils are without scruples. most of those soils are murder on gardeners...no good at all!.

so several times during the summer, let your lawn grow high so you can harvest the clippings for the garden soil. Mulch the garden in the fall and add that too...as well as constant scraps off the table and kitchen meal preparation. depend on that much more than on any soil you may buy for the garden.

if you can go get soil in the country somewhere they actually dig it out or are making it right there you can see that would be good. but that seems a real big undertaking that!
Last edit: 24 Aug 2021 14:36 by Billy Shatine.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ketchim

24 Aug 2021 14:41 - 24 Aug 2021 14:42 #392428 by Billy Shatine
You like zucchni bread Chairman. man! that is a delicious bread isn't it! :P :P

And it does not trouble my sugar levels negatively at all.:) :)
No weight gain, and I can satisfy myself easily without over doing it :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edit: 24 Aug 2021 14:42 by Billy Shatine.

24 Aug 2021 14:54 - 24 Aug 2021 15:07 #392430 by Billy Shatine
Also for Belle save that this is not early in the season: the question of male and female flowers, pollination by insects etc.

zucchni produces lots of male flowers in relation to female flowers and the availability of pollinators in the garden to do the job. but that is an early season problem not late like end of august. so something long term is wrong...or there are no pollinators in both gardens

For ketchim: bwoy! zucchini is a crow that attracts tons of diseases. if by late august you are no well grown its not going to happen this year. there is diseases in your soil that's killing your growth. In fact I don't know when you planted your zucchini but if you don't have growth you expected by now they have been in at least 6 weeks. you aint going to get much if anything out of that.

next year for you but you have to change spots and make sue you have a good rich soil available where you spot them. Zucchini grows on anything but to max out get the soil rich so they can fend for themselves. I never use chemicals on my garden. never! if they get sick I do the best I cane and they usually get over. but if they die so be it. I am not going to poison myself.
Last edit: 24 Aug 2021 15:07 by Billy Shatine.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ketchim

Time to create page: 0.231 seconds
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
ketchim251 - 8(10.01.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
Gibson