06 Jan 2020 13:40 #378085
The sleepover sealed it.
Less than 24 hours after parting ways with longtime coach Jason Garrett, the Cowboys have reportedly found a replacement after agreeing to terms with former Packers coach Mike McCarthy, who stayed at owner Jerry Jones’ house Saturday night, according to ESPN’s Adam Schefter.
“Once you stay at Jerry’s house, he doesn’t lose his guy,” a source told Schefter.
06 Jan 2020 13:41 #378086
The stunning loss by the Patriots Saturday night in an AFC wild-card playoff game had a direct effect on the scheduling of the coaching search the Giants are currently undertaking.
There are no more games for the Patriots to prepare for, meaning their offensive coordinator, Josh McDaniels, is ready to talk to any interested teams about head-coaching positions. The Giants have McDaniels on their list and will meet with him sooner than expected. Previously, McDaniels announced any interviews would take place Jan. 10, but that was before the Patriots were eliminated by the Titans 20-13 at Gillette Stadium
06 Jan 2020 13:45 #378087
Cowboys officially fire Jason Garrett in 'sensitive' ending
That was one messy breakup.
Before the Cowboys officially parted ways with Jason Garrett on Sunday night, the longtime head coach refused to accept that his tenure with the team was coming to an end, even as Dallas has interviewed potential replacements and indicated several times that it was over.
“Never seen anything like it,” Fox Sports’ Jay Glazer reported Sunday before Garrett’s fate became official. “Because Jason Garrett, they’ve gone to him now multiple times this week to say, ‘OK, you’re out as the head coach.’ And he says, ‘Hold on, don’t do it yet, I still want to be considered for this.’ And every time they do it, say, ‘We’re moving on, we’re starting to interview other people’ … They have to tell Jason Garrett, ‘No, you’re gone, we’re moving on.’”
It wasn’t until the Cowboys finally announced they wouldn’t renew Garrett’s contract, which will end Jan. 14, that he conceded he would no longer be the head coach in Dallas.
07 Jan 2020 10:14 #378104
a sleepover
he musta give Jerry ah good wood dat Jerry like and hire him right away
but dat is a mistake anyway. I had even less faith in Jerry Jones picking a good coach than i had I Garnett
dong a good coaching job for the 'boys. Garnet was a poor coach..and Jones is an even worse owner
this McCarthy fellow has had his day. deh doh come back after that. none of them have. you have to find the younger man with the legs to go all the way.
in this case the younger mans was a test by the name of Lincoln Riley. Riley wud have come improve the team into the playoffs next season, win fuss' round and them lorse. but the following year he would win everything, contend for the next 7-10 years then quit and go on with his life
Mccarthy is set in his old Packers ways. he go run into big problems with the offense..he and Dak. Riley as a young man on his way up wud not have that problem.
this is huge mistake by Jones..a bad hire. but a bad hire is exactly what I expected him to make. the man is ah football arse. dat is why he doh win nor more
Mike McCarthy Cowboys hire sealed with Jerry Jones sleepover
Time to create page: 0.161 seconds