28 Aug 2019 22:57 #374921
the name is Mapou! harrump!
and I have a life you know.
why shud I be Cecil? how good a cricketer was I. pretty good I think..all things being equal I cud have gone places.
I had friend back den..a white bwoy who went to St Marys. we used to hang and talk about a lot of things. my friend was also older than me by about 3 years. I said one day "by the time I am 18 I will make west indies!" I was serious!
her laffed and explained: "bwoy! you not going to one of the big high schools..you have no family name, you have no skin color... nutten at all by way of the criteria that get people ahead in this country. wat the hell you talking about. you could be good as god yuh not getting in!"
he cud have gone further and pointed out that what he explained was not limited to cricket but to life in Trinidad in general for lil niggers! indeed if I made it at all it would have had to have been Cecil like..at 50 years old aftah fighting against the local tides and built a life in trinidad deh respected.
you ever take a good look at the trinidad sides of those years: Joey Carew, the Davis brothers, Deryck Murray, Marcus Minshall, Randolph Hezekiah, Willie Rodriguez.....
there was usually one Black man on the side: Pascal Roberts was one. Leo John became another controversial one. John was jet Black and a batsman scoring huge runs for years for Nyron Asgarali's team Wanderers in central Trinidad in the southern first class league.
john not quite Cecil got in late and did well but did not last long in the team. but he shud have made the team much earlier in his career. but he was jet Black from ordinary circumstances
if I remember rightly there was a batsman by the name of Lewis..more brown skin than anything. Noel Robinson was another..he too disappeared.
interesting! when I first saw the Trinidad team playing at the Oval in the early sixties I was shock. it seemed all white. the players I took for granted were Black were not..they were white. all that was helping to clear up the mysteries of trinidad society for me