domestic violence

03 Mar 2019 16:52 #369816 by chairman
A Sophia housewife was hospitalised in a critical condition up to press time last night after she was repeatedly stabbed by her husband, who fled but was later arrested.

The injured woman has been identified as Carol London, 41, of Lot 210 Block ‘F,’ North Sophia. She sustained injuries to her face, upper body and hands during the attack, which occurred around 10.30 am yesterday.

05 Mar 2019 13:41 #369927 by chairman
A Fyrish Village, Corentyne man was found hanging during the wee hours of Sunday morning, a short while after he is claimed to have choked his wife and threatened to kill them both.

Vimal Palkissoon, also known as ‘Navin,’ 37, a labourer of Lot 57 Fyrish Road, Corentyne, was discovered hanging above his front stairs by his 11-year-old son.

05 Mar 2019 14:20 #369931 by chairman
One week after she almost lost her daughter at the hands of an abusive farmer, Zorina Mahase is now scared for her own life and is contemplating fleeing the home she lived in for several years as the man has been threatening to “finish her off” before turning himself in to the police.

The 48-year-old woman of Good Hope, East Coast Demerara (ECD) on Monday told Inews that she is fearful for her life after persons in the area reported to her that the farmer was seen and was threatening her life. According to the woman, whose daughter was chopped mercilessly on February 24, she made a report to the police but was told that they cannot do anything since they are still searching for the farmer.

The distraught woman was almost moved to tears during an interview with Inews as she said, “We gah leave the house and go now, we gah find somewhere to go because the man still deh out deh”.

Mahase’s words were triggered by last Sunday’s episode when the 35-year-old man chopped her 22-year-old daughter, Vashti Mahase, several times with a cutlass while she was serving him a restraining order at his Lima Dam home in Mahaica.

05 Mar 2019 14:21 #369932 by chairman
The elder Mahase, a mother of seven, said she has lived in her home for almost 19 years now and has never had an issue to cause her to move, even as she reported that her injured daughter’s condition is improving.

The fearful woman said she never had an issue with the farmer until she learnt that he abuses her daughter, which is something she was unable to accept.

“I just want somebody to find the man, the police just said they can’t do anything because they nah know way de man deh. Tell me what I can do because I mind me children them without a father for over 19 year and now me got to leff me house and go…how lang me gun able fuh hide from me home wah me wuk all de days of me life fuh build,” she cried.

Efforts made by this publication to contact the Divisional Commander, Calvin Brutus, proved futile.

Young Mahase was sent to the home of the suspect accompanied by a rural constable to issue a restraining order a few days after he threatened to chop her head off.

Inews was told that in the process of serving the restraining order, an argument ensued between the two and while Mahase’s back was turned, the farmer gruesomely attacked her with his cutlass, firing chops at her face, head, hands, back and other body parts.

The rural constable who was with her allegedly ran for cover, leaving the woman at the mercy of her attacker.

According to the mother, her daughter was told that it was compulsory for her to be present when the restraining order was served since she needed to identify him.

Police are searching for the suspect.

06 Mar 2019 13:15 #369949 by chairman
SURAJ Jailall, 29, of Sisters Village, West Bank Demerara, is now dead. He had been clinging to live since Sunday in hospital after he was chopped to the back of his head by his sister’s boyfriend.

Reports are that the suspect and Jailall were involved in an argument while they were drinking at a corner in the community, a street away from where the now deceased man lived.

According to his relatives, during the argument, the men were cautioned by persons and they had stopped, but sometime later the suspect again began accosting the 29- year-old and he, the suspect, then left and went home. Shortly after, the man returned with a cutlass and chopped Jailall to the back of his head, causing him to stumble all the way home.

06 Mar 2019 13:16 #369950 by chairman
GUYANA has recorded 400 cases of sexual abuse against children in just three months, a figure which Resident UNICEF Representative, Sylvie Fouet says is alarming.

Fouet was at the time speaking at the launch of the Forensic Psychology and Sexual Offences Special Training Series which was coordinated by the Supreme Court, University of Guyana and UNICEF.

“The training will help court personnel to engage children who are abused, because it is not an easy task,” she said during the programme which was held at the Pegasus Hotel.
Fouet pointed out that that last year, the number of cases were over 1000. The UNICEF representative signaled the need for more to be done in order to address the scourge which has been plaguing society for years.

11 Mar 2019 14:13 #370119 by chairman
Vashtie Mahase, the young mother of two who was brutally chopped two weeks ago while accompanying a Rural Constable (RC) to serve her partner a restraining order, has been discharged from the hospital but was forced to flee her home in fear for her safety.

Mahase, 21, was chopped on February 24th, allegedly by her partner, Fazil Osman, a 39-year-old famer of Mahaica, East Coast Demerara.

20 Mar 2019 12:25 #370398 by chairman
The farmer who brutally attacked his reputed wife on February 24 2019, was on Wednesday charged with attempted murder.

Fazal Osman, 39, of Mahaica, appeared before Magistrate Fabayo Azore at the Cove and John Magistrate’s Courts. He was not required to plea to the indictable offence.

Osman was remanded to prison and he will make his next appearance on March 5 at the Mahaica Magistrate’s Court.

Vashti Mahase, 22, barely escaped with her life on the day of the attack.

She was accompanied by a Rural Constable to Osman’s home to serve him with a restraining order when he whipped out his cutlass and dealt her several chops to her face, hand, back and about the body. As the attack was launched on the woman, the Rural Constable reportedly ran away.

It took police several days after the incident before the suspect was found and arrested.

04 Apr 2019 13:18 #370672 by chairman
I know many will be upset by this statement but it needs to be said. Whenever a femicide (murder of an abused victim) takes place hundreds turn out to memorialize that person. But if those hundreds had formed a network of support and intervention in the first place then that person would most likely still have been alive. Its past time when we can see and know about abuse and say 'its not my business'. Its past time when we don't take action to help because the victim live sin denial. ITS TIME FOR ABUSE PREVENTION TO BE EVERYBODY'S BUSINESS! YOU DO IT FOR SOMEONE ELSE BECAUSE YOU WOULD WANT OTHERS TO DO IT FOR YOU!

04 Apr 2019 13:21 #370675 by chairman
(Jamaica Observer) Law enforcement authorities in the United States have captured a Jamaican man they say used a machete to kill his wife and daughter.

Miami Gardens Police Chief Delma Noel-Pratt said a fire rescue crew spotted 57-year-old Noel Chambers Tuesday night and called police, who took him into custody.

Chambers, police say is a hulking man known to friends in Jamaica and Miami by the nickname “Massive.”

Police had searched for Chambers since Saturday when they found the bodies of 48-year-old Lorrice Harris and 10-year-old Shayla. Another daughter, 29-year-old Shanalee Chambers, was critically injured.

The Miami Herald reports that Harris’ family spoke to the media on Monday to help police find Chambers. Daughter Ashley Anderson called her father a “monster.”

Ernie Saunders said his sister had asked for a divorce before she was killed. Chambers is charged with two counts of first-degree murder. A lawyer wasn’t listed on jail records.

Time to create page: 0.209 seconds
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
ketchim251 - 8(10.01.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
ketchimMotie and Sinclair not out ~(10.01.2024, 12:56)(12:56)0
ketchimWarm Up match and couple of boys made DUCK 8 down for 232(10.01.2024, 12:55)(12:55)0
ketchimTEST match starts on 16th !(07.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
AlondraRanji Trophy is BACK, another Exciting Season to look forward too. Big Scores, Grand Daddy Centuries, Lots of 6 and 7 Fer .(07.01.2024, 08:11)(08:11)0
ketchimIndia became the first team to lose six wickets without scoring a run in Tests(03.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
Delaney