19 Nov 2011 15:29 #61150
After the shootings at the airstrip, Jones had gathered the remaining residents
of the People's Temple and made them drink punch laced with cyanide.
19 Nov 2011 15:30 #61151
Many "drank the Kool-Aid" but others were shot or had their throats cut.
Jones himself was found shot dead.
A total of 918 people died : :blank:
all of them US citizens.
19 Nov 2011 15:38 #61153
Indra Haralsingh , director of Guyana Tourism Authority seh :
"It's possible to recreate something to give people a walk-through experience
to show the videos and literature, to put up a museum of Jonestown...
There could be targeted marketing first to the US and then elsewhere. " :blank:
19 Nov 2011 15:41 #61154
My former alma mater classmate , Gerry Gouveia seh :
"It was the most horrific scene, and it hasn't left me yet,"
As a young pilot in the military, he was one of the first on the scene.
( had I not left Guyana , I wouldda been on de scene as well ...ketch )
"The priority was to evacuate the wounded from the airstrip and then we went back
for the bodies :
but we still had no idea about what was happening in Jonestown itself."
19 Nov 2011 15:45 #61155
Gerry now owns his own Tourism company , had dis to say :
"What we need to do is attract people to come to Guyana,
whether that attraction is Jonestown or Kaieteur Falls
or birding or ecotourism or cricket,
to see what a wonderful country Guyana has turned out to be " :cool:
19 Nov 2011 15:52 #61156
A Memorial graces the site . Inscribed :
" In Memory of the Victims of the Jonestown Tragedy "
19 Nov 2011 15:58 #61158
morbidly , Jonestown put Guyana on the map and for this gyyanese are grateful .The term " drinking the coolaid " used so commonly nowadays will forever be associated with guyana.
The crashing of the caribbean airline plane with zero fatality also helped launched Guyana on the world stage
19 Nov 2011 16:06 #61161
Exactly.
Auschwitz have tourists for Gassing and Pizza ovens for the Jews ..
Rwanda have tourism for dat Genocide ( and dats less dan 20 years )
JonesTown : Guyana
Time to create page: 0.179 seconds