22 Feb 2016 11:04 #293181
From the Chowology thread...I feel to eat a chow chow and nothing else. but I doh have any ingredients fuh ah chow-chow here. so I will wait until tomorrow to eat.
I will go to shows later and scope out what deh have I can use fuh ah chow-chow. when I find it I will set it up fuh lunch tomorrow and eat den
Fortinos will have mangos fuh sure...and I will get hot peppers from the chinese. oh guuuuuuuude. look troublehere
maybe I even find some pomme si'tay :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
22 Feb 2016 12:20 #293202
Chinny Chin Chin is the right person to arks dat question :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
anyhow its simple full green fruit getting ready to ripe we slice up and dress with seasonings..primarily pepper and salt...but now has evolved into 'Chowology' which means chow-chow has been expanded into what I don't know.
the last time I was in Trinidad I saw foods I used to know as simple food developed into all manner of new forms. so I hesitate to speak on chow-chow now more tna I used to know it.
I will get some mangos and make a simple chow tomorrow with pepper and sal'...maybe even puree' it and and expand the base of seasonings, and eat it with lettuce leaves
23 Feb 2016 12:20 #293366
Chow is overrated : Guyanese do that salt and pepper with turning Mango all de time!
we eve rub floury Tamarinds together.
23 Feb 2016 12:33 #293368
yes we used to use fully ripe 'tambrand' too. 'tambrand' imparts its own special flavour to a chow-chow. the sweet and sour taste is amazing and sharpens up the general apetitie. in that way it has a fresh kushela effect.
there is nutten that makes me eat more, stuff! than a fresh kushla. kushela is not good fuh me :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[