Black Prep School President Steps Down

02 Jul 2014 08:03 #199478 by The Captain
Black Prep School President Steps Down After Mocking White Classmates

s.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/dSeh5xsthorYGR...94-1404153100-23.jpg

The most expensive prep school in the country, the Lawrenceville School, spent much of its spring semester mired in racial tensions as its first black student-body president was forced to step down for “mocking” white male students on Instagram.

In the photo that Maya Peterson posted of herself to Instagram in March when she was a senior, she poses as a typical “Lawrenceville boi” — wearing a Yale sweatshirt and duck boots, holding a hockey stick. It's hashtagged #romney2016, #confederate, and #peakedinhighschool. 

“I understand why I hurt people's feelings, but I didn't become president to make sure rich white guys had more representation on campus,” Peterson told BuzzFeed, which reported the story on Monday. “Let’s be honest. They're not the ones that feel uncomfortable here.” Peterson graduated from Lawrenceville, a private school near princeton, N.J., in June.

Still, according to the school's student publication, The Lawrence, after a group of students alerted Dean of Students Nancy Thomas to the post, Thomas met with Peterson and decided it would be best for her to step down as president. Thomas, the story notes, felt “it was not fitting of a student leader to make comments mocking members of the community.” And so Peterson resigned, saying through an email to the student body, “As your Student Body President, it is my job to do what is best for the community, but as a student it is my job to do what is best for myself. With that said, I have decided to step down as President of The Lawrenceville School.”

Though the Lawrenceville School — where annual tuition is around $53,000 and the student body is 55 percent white, 21 percent Asian, and 16 percent black/Hispanic — would not comment directly on the Peterson situation because of “privacy” issues, it did release the following statement to Yahoo Shine:

“The Lawrenceville School works hard to foster an inclusive, open, and engaging atmosphere that gives all students opportunities to be heard, feel respected and succeed. We do not tolerate racial discrimination and have had few issues on campus for many years now. Like any institution in America, we appreciate the challenge of having discussions about issues of diversity, and we remain committed to developing young people's abilities to engage with these issues in productive ways.

• May102014
02 Jul 2014 08:53 #199482 by May102014
I read about this yesterday. I wasn't surprise at the reaction given to the young lady. I can only speak for myself as a black American. So, here is my opinion. Everyday I am bombarded with racial nonsense in my country. People make flippant remarks in reference to my race and I am suppose to accept it. We see it all the time in grotesque black faces of other races mocking black people to racist remarks on message boards to repulsive comments about President Obama from well known politicians - people who are in charge of legislation in our country. Once a black American decides to turn the tables and showcase the ignorance constantly thrown at us by white Americans, it becomes the case of (drum roll here) reverse racism. FYI, there's no such thing as reverse racism. It's simply racism. I have learn a long time ago that those in power do not like it when you challenge their perceive authority. They loathe it actually. You are never suppose to notice what they are doing. Call it a case of a secret inferiority complex. The young lady at the Prep Academy is very intelligent and I'm glad she is socially aware and don't buy into the whole post racial nonsense constantly being promoted in America to erase any reality of racism going on. She will be okay. Losing her position as President is not a big deal. At least she knows now that in a certain area where you are outnumber, don't expect mass support from a group of people who don't care about your existence and mock your concerns.

02 Jul 2014 13:45 #199575 by gtcrickfan
Racism is racism seems like she has a chip on her shoulder..but I consider it free speech. What harm did she cause other than upset feelings. The sooner all races just shrug off racists tantrums thr better we will be as a country now when s racist act prevents someone from getting a job or house in a certain neighborhood..then we shout..stop crying wolf everytime someone offends you

02 Jul 2014 13:48 #199578 by mapoui
eff america that crap like this are such big issues.

these things shud not even be a potential in any society.  but it is the deal in the USA.

when is the USA going to disappear as a factor of social reality. its way past time!  >:( >:( >:( >:(

02 Jul 2014 13:57 #199582 by gtcrickfan
Not in your lifetime and centuries to come.

02 Jul 2014 14:00 #199583 by The Captain
Devil

Maps does that to me everyday

02 Jul 2014 14:43 #199594 by gtcrickfan
He Mel me laff..too

02 Jul 2014 14:45 #199595 by mapoui
very prolly in my life time devil's...

and most likely in yours if not.

america is finished financially unless they do the most drastic reforms or revolutionary change possible...that is to arrest and try its entire government, wall street and the bankers and military hierarchy..kill the federal reserve and establish a new kind of banking consistent with current need..the needs of a democracy that would replace the oligarchy now in place.

and lastly repudiate the national debt and start spend the national currency as they should have been from the start...as is stated clearly in their constitution..debt free.

the money belongs to the people and is stated in their constitution that the government must spend the money debt free that there must be no central bank and no debt based economy.

if that is not done then you all will be enslaved forever paying it back and the real nasty people who in charge now will continue running allyuh lives forever..controlling you government, television, newspaper, schools and education, military sending all the young people to fight and die  to force the rest of the planet to toe the american line..which is to allow themselves to be enslaved by american financial oligarchs just like americans are now.

thats a form slavery.  it is HELL and allyuh doh realise it yet.  but as things get tingh as they are tightening now it becomes harder and harder for americans to make ends meet,  then even more draconian controls will fall on allyuh.  allyuh already have a clear police state in place.

now get this straight captain and yuh new sidepiece!  I dont care about america.  if the rest of the world can manage to keep american within its borders then allyuh can go on forever terrorizing each other.  it is the trouble in the rest of the world allyuh cause that pisses me off.  I want allyuh skunt off my back and out of my hair.. so that I may have a chance live in peace, away from allyuh greedy, 'cravishus' accumulating, violent skunts, wanting to own everything in the world.

di'ze the reason I want allyuh to disappear.  but if we can keep allyuh locked inside allyuh own country allyuh can stay there forever, and be a problem tuh allyuhselves...not the rest outside here

02 Jul 2014 14:49 #199596 by ketchim
USA is only a factor because they were the highest USER of SLAVES

I know re : reparations , we gonna talk Belgium.

BUT I am talking about the Importation of Slave Labour !

White Americans are INHERENTLY ( possibly , genetically) RACIST !

we tried with our Underground Railroad : Happy Canada Day !  8)

02 Jul 2014 14:52 #199597 by mapoui
"and I mel yuh laff Devil's ::confused::"

I fughet racist skunts as well.  I add it now.

and look here the way allyuh going soon enuff allyuh will precipitate the end of humanity.

allyuh effing lose!  allyuh getting beat in the world.  all allyuh have is allyuh big fat, obeses and stinking bloated military, trying to force the world to give allyuh what allyuh lorse.

look at the dangerous behaviour OBambo skunt engaged in pushing Russia and China.  there is a limit to that and it will soon be reached.  when that limit is arrived at say yuh prayers if yuh religious. 

allyuh behave that way because allyuh done lorse, defeated, beaten.  soon you dollar will be tossed in the water or used in the toilet.  soon!

Time to create page: 0.234 seconds
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
ketchim251 - 8(10.01.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
ketchimMotie and Sinclair not out ~(10.01.2024, 12:56)(12:56)0
ketchimWarm Up match and couple of boys made DUCK 8 down for 232(10.01.2024, 12:55)(12:55)0
ketchimTEST match starts on 16th !(07.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
AlondraRanji Trophy is BACK, another Exciting Season to look forward too. Big Scores, Grand Daddy Centuries, Lots of 6 and 7 Fer .(07.01.2024, 08:11)(08:11)0
ketchimIndia became the first team to lose six wickets without scoring a run in Tests(03.01.2024, 13:55)(13:55)0
Landyn