23 Sep 2009 18:09 #1039
by Kyla
Remember the joke (true story again) about the WHERE, WHERE!!!
tHAT must have been another jumbie!!
23 Sep 2009 18:17 #1040
My mom had a weird experience one time.
It was the middle of winter and there was a fierce snowstorm barrelling down on Toronto. There were reports to stay inside and not to venture if you got home safely. The public transportation had come to a halt and most people were left without a way home.
Anyway, mom was driving a Chevy Astro at the time – big cargo/family van and she was making her way through the storm on her way home from work (night time) – thinking that she could plough through anything. YEAH RIGHT!
She was going uphill when the van got stuck and threatened not to move. The tires spinned out and everything. So thinking she had the right idea, she put the van in neutral, got out, went to the rear of the vehicle and proceeded to throw her weight against the van in hopes that it would move up! Mind you, there were no cars or people on this stretch of road she was on – it was late and dark and most people were off the roads.
Out of nowhere comes a big burly black woman (her words) and who started to help her push the van. Mom, not caring where the woman came from, continued to push as well. The woman (the black lady) told her:
“Get inside the van yu’hear, meh goan push and you mash gas! GO!”
So my mom did just that. Eventually the vehicle was released from its hold and she was at the top of the hill. She stopped the van, not forgetting the woman and her help, jumped out the van to offer the lady a ride to wherever she wanted to go….and guess what…
THE WOMAN GONE TURASS!
No where in sight, no where to go as the place was all industrial….
23 Sep 2009 18:18 #1041
ahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
man tek off that picture with the glasses nah?
23 Sep 2009 19:26 #1042
what a story? i think was the lady who was the midwife in guyana who delivered her and came back to help her. she missed the baby she had delivered and wondered where she was.
23 Sep 2009 20:18 #1044
when that midwife delivered panditji's baby. the midwife was so enamored she wanted to keep[ the baby for herself. but she didnt want naniji to be sad. so she made a promise to herself that she will protect the baby for life. she saw that baby struggling so many years later and came to her rescue. the midwife neva forgot.
23 Sep 2009 20:19 #1045
actually - the midwife never delivered my mom....she saved her when she crawled out and landed in a mud pit or trench or whatever......mud was all in her nose, mouth..the lady picked her up and saved her from being suffocated.
23 Sep 2009 20:50 #1046
the story is the midwife wanted the baby for herself. that midwife was a good friend of jessie burnham and jessie told her nooo you cannot take panditji baby.
23 Sep 2009 21:06 #1047
by Paro
I was born with caul (meaning I could see jumbhie) however, I never did; but I have heard enough in my life time. (and from good sources to booth). However, there were occasions when I feel "light" as when there is someone with me /
years ago, my hubby (and kids) went to australia to visit his brother, my mom who stayed with me (in this big assed house) had to go to NY for the weekend. So I slept alone (in this big assed house); I was not afraid of jumbie, but I was scared (not sure of what) and I swear I didnt sleep all night, I watched TV; at 5 am , my body just gave way to sleep.
when my mom came home, she asked me if Iwas afraid? I said yes. she then told me that my nana (her dad - dead some 60+ yrs) dreamt her in NY and was scolding her, about how an she leave "that child" alone in that big house, if she dont have sense to know that I was scared, that he had to come and make me feel at ease.
btw: Kyla, I have heard something similar along the lines about what happen to your hubby - someone in GY c0uld not catch up with the lady either.