guyana in the year 1922

Artemisback · 04-12-2012, 02:59 AM · 3 people reading this discussion

[quote author=Hema Malini link=topic=65303.msg410146#msg410146 date=1334259192]
another thing, I don't know why you would think that the coolies had more privileges than the slaves, when coolies arrived in Guyana, they africans were already rebelling, therefore, they had some sort of power,  i think by then white man gain somoe knowledge to implement the golden rule of a  5 year contract, but don't let the 5 year contrat fool you,  Im pretty sure the same policies applied to them as if though they were slaves... remember we had the masters and another tribe to deal with... coolies were probably the bottom feeders... 

Somewhat accurate.  But unlike the African slaves, the British let the coolies keep their religious and cultural practices.  They were not outlawed.

[quote author=Snoopster link=topic=65303.msg410138#msg410138 date=1334258571]
Maaaaan, meh nah taak bout this generation.  Meh taak bout back then.  And how come those coolies in Mauritius and Fiji still speak dem bhojpuri even after a 150 years?

put some thoughts into it, you may come up with an answers all by yourself...

think of teh caricom and guyana politics
speaking of which, the amerindians keep their tongue too.  :kiss:

[quote author=Snoopster link=topic=65303.msg410148#msg410148 date=1334259299]

the British let the coolies keep their religious and cultural practices. 

On purpose ....to subvert Independence :

Knowing that The Hindu will forever be Endeared to :

Mother India !

That is why we could never get dem to be " real " Guyanese .. [img alt=:Rolleyes:]http://www.westindiesforum.com/../../../Smileys/default/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

[quote author=Hema Malini link=topic=65303.msg410152#msg410152 date=1334259648]

put some thoughts into it, you may come up with an answers all by yourself...

think of teh caricom and guyana politics
speaking of which, the amerindians keep their tongue too.  :kiss:

Why don't you bring that tongue of yours over here so I can examine it. ::lol::

Oh, and BTW,  :kiss:  right back at ya Babe.

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=65303.msg410154#msg410154 date=1334259749]

On purpose ....to subvert Independence :

Knowing that The Hindu will forever be Endeared to :

Mother India !

That is why we could never get dem to be " real " Guyanese .. [img alt=:Rolleyes:]http://www.westindiesforum.com/Smileys/default/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

oye, get with the program...

we aruging about why Guyanese lost their mother tongue... the tradition was there until only recently...

walk with dis Scraper , in case :

[Image: tonguecleaning.jpg]

[quote author=Snoopster link=topic=65303.msg410156#msg410156 date=1334259797]
Why don't you bring that tongue of yours over here so I can examine it. ::lol::

Oh, and BTW,  :kiss:  right back at ya Babe.
but you see what i'm saying right...

like seriously...

[quote author=Hema Malini link=topic=65303.msg410158#msg410158 date=1334259886]

we aruging about why Guyanese lost their mother tongue... the tradition was there until only recently...

NO ! ...we talking about after being allowed to KEEP ( by British design )

why was it Lost ???

You get wid de programme  ::lol::

I have other ways of examining Hema's tongue ketch.  But a gentlemen does not tell tales out of school. ::lol::

[quote author=Hema Malini link=topic=65303.msg410160#msg410160 date=1334259971]
but you see what i'm saying right...

like seriously...
To a point yes.  But you don't seem to get what I'm driving at.