Longest Reigning Monarch Queen Elizabeth II

shamsi · 09-10-2015, 04:27 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

All now I sitting here recalling English Literature Richard II  for O level exams coming up !!

Old John of Gaunt, time-honour'd Lancaster,
Hast thou, according to thy oath and band,

Brought hither Henry Hereford thy bold son,
Here to make good the boisterous late appeal,
Which then our leisure would not let us hear,

Against the Duke of Norfolk, Thomas Mowbray?

Maps , yesterday you said you hated Old English : I was gonna quote you Chaucer :

from when I was a 16 year old at my alma mater O level studies  Wink

Oure Hooste gan to swere as he were  wood

"Harrow!" quod he, "by nayles and by blood!

This was a fals cherl and a fals lustice ~

Quote:Oure Hooste gan to swere as he were  wood

"Harrow!" quod he, "by nayles and by blood!

This was a fals cherl and a fals lustice ~

Our Host began to swear as a madman would:

"Help!" he said, "now by Christ's nails and blood!

This was a false man and a false judge!

man why dont you stop dat :o :o :o :o :o

its is shocking you take all dat so seriously..the story and language of a conqueror which said narrative and linguistics contain only contempt for the conquered and defeated..only conditioned denial of self worth the deeper the other gets into that dam content.

I wud imagine that such as you would be engrossed in mental cleansing and de-conditioning  self... rather than celebrating ones enslavement and indenture.

piss on all that.  and if I had to celebrate anything english it would be Dickens and such as Wedgewood Benn, the Levelers, Cornforth and left writers and artists...Gerald Massey and so on....not all that jackass history cast by historians in the employ of the exploiters.

yo sweet yes sketchim! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Quote:Our Host began to swear as a madman would:

"Help!" he said, "now by Christ's nails and blood!

This was a false man and a false judge!

well I used to do dat too...or tried to..for a minute.

then I latched onto WEB DuBois, Henry Sylvester Williams, JJ Thomas and Froudacity..George Padmore and Black Jacobins, which was really difficult for me at that time..and Dickens....

then I had no time at all for William,  and Chaucer Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue

You cannot Revise : HISTORY 

it happened : we studied it it High School

I still recall my Periodic Table in Chemistry  Wink

Quote:Commissioned in 1887 to mark the Golden Jubilee, this Queen Victoria statue was unveiled in 1894

outside the law courts in Georgetown, Guyana.

More than half a century later, in 1954, the statue was dynamited in an act of anti-colonial protest :

and its head and left hand were blown off.  :-[

This actually happened : to put back her head and arm was a helluva exercise !  Wink

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=100144.msg655631#msg655631 date=1442415774]
You cannot Revise : HISTORY 

it happened : we studied it it High School

I still recall my Periodic Table in Chemistry  Wink

you doan unnerstan!  instead of putting pen to paper to translate Chaucer, reorganize their history from your perspective..replace wat deh teach yuh wit' dat.  free yuh mind..see dem as deh are... not how deh teach you to see dem
>Sad >Sad >Sad >Sad

Free my mind ? you missing the bus

that stuff propelled me to greater Academic excellence .....

Guys like Walter Rodney did the same Syllabus  Wink

oh mi :o :o