Here Is The real Deal! Googs,Ketchim...Real Economics 101!

mapoui · 04-20-2015, 11:25 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/04/17/g...ss-action/

Quote:Right now, at least $200 billion of Greece’s total financial wealth of $900 billions in the hands of the wealthiest 1%. (Estimate based on 2013 Global Wealth Databook) A 10% tax would raise $20 billion per year, increasing the Greek government’s income by about 65%.

Of course, the oligarchs will try to evade such taxes,moving their money overseas. To prevent that the Greek government should place strict control on the movement of capital abroad. In addition, the government is already the dominant shareholder in the major Greek banks. It should actually exert direct control over the banks, and use their records to track down the real wealth of the wealthiest. The failure of the Syriza government to take this basic step has already allowed the oligarchs to move billions of euros out of Greece. Each day of delay makes this situation worse.

Equally important, despite capital flight, governments everywhere have the power to seize productive property to pay for back taxes. Greek corporations make about $100 billion a year in profits. Seizing , “de-privatizing”,the profitable assets of tax-evading oligarchs will bring instant revenue into government coffers.

But all these steps deal with gathering in money revenue. The real key to restarting the Greek economy is what is done with the money. It has to be used to mobilize the now-idle human resources of the country, the vast number of unemployed, to real social benefit. The way to do this is to initiate a massive public works and public service program to provide free education, health care, transportation and housing to all Greeks. A $20 billion a year program would create about 1.3 million new jobs at current wage rates, enough for nearly all the current 1.4 million unemployed in Greece. About half the jobs would be those directly created by the program and and the other half would be those those resulting from more spending throughout the Greek economy due to the new income of the direct employees.

This program must be democratically run by the workers and communities involved at all levels. The jobs must be direct government employment, not though contractors. This is the only way to eliminate the corruption that has plagued the Greek public sector for decades.

By heavily taxing the capitalists and creating a public works and service program, the Greek government will be able to shift the type of imports to Greece and thus can greatly improve living standards without significantly increasing the trade deficit. Greater amounts of necessary goods will replace lesser amounts of luxury goods.

Greece was the scapegoat and was forced to swallow austerity that destroyed 25% of its GDP. No other country was subjected to such a fiscal adjustment including the other PIIGS. Five years later with a devastated economy and more austerity being forced down Greece's throat coupled with global abuse we see that its a win win situation for, surprise.... Germany

Quote:that its a win win situation for,

read Germany as the Jewish International Banking Cartel that is the only game in the western world.

however I am interested most keenly in Lerner's take on the solution.  what Lerner proposes is what I have been on about in these pages for years.

googley proposes a religious solution among others that supports the status.
seet guy eh...googs ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

The answer is really very simple. Something states like California and New Jersey should know by heart.
The Greeks have discovered that if they want to live lavish and opulent life styles, they need an endless supply of money. They have also learned that if they cannot generate the revenue stream on their own, borrow, borrow, borrow. Because, you will never, ever have to pay it back. Someone else will always be holding the bag.

[quote author=boom boom link=topic=97278.msg633207#msg633207 date=1429621043]
The answer is really very simple. Something states like California and New Jersey should know by heart.
The Greeks have discovered that if they want to live lavish and opulent life styles, they need an endless supply of money. They have also learned that if they cannot generate the revenue stream on their own, borrow, borrow, borrow. Because, you will never, ever have to pay it back. Someone else will always be holding the bag.

but that is not quite true.  is only certain Greeks who borrow the money and put it in the peoples name.

the people have to pay back...workers and farmers.... not those who borrowed and make profit from it in the fus' place.

the bankers doh care.  Greece have to pay even if is only certain Greeks..the Greek friend of the banksters..who did the dirty deed

You still arguing with these 2 posters ?

Lookit here Mapoui , these are valid points by ballfield and boom boom.  Tongue

Quote:Lookit here Mapoui , these are valid points by ballfield and boom boom

there you go with your propaganda again.  wat arguing.  just a small correction on the Boom.

but you know dat is how it goes...the elite puts the nation in debt by passing over all their failed debt onto the account of the people by bankster control of the central bank and national currency.

deh have control of the government that's how. dem and the banksters together collude to get the people in debt.  that is how they rip the people off..by tapping into the bank of last resort the peoples labour power

Maps want free money!! 

there is a thing call a job, Maps!  Tongue

[quote author=Goog Lee link=topic=97278.msg633273#msg633273 date=1429628936]
Maps want free money!! 

there is a thing call a job, Maps!  Tongue

now Pandit..I would like to know how dat is relevant to the thread..to what I commented ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

yuh getting more senile dan me Sad Sad

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=97278.msg633314#msg633314 date=1429634104]
now Pandit..I would like to know how dat is relevant to the thread..to what I commented ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

yuh getting more senile dan me Sad Sad

hold, you don't see the relevance of asking the rich to pay for everything with getting a job? 8)