CHECK THIS: Did Lara Do A Selfish Thing While Scoring 400* ?

Rev Al · 09-15-2014, 09:08 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[quote author=Rev link=topic=92724.msg588351#msg588351 date=1410874364]
PAGING MAPOUI:

[size=14pt]* Give me a straightforward answer, no convoluted obfuscation. Was the great Lara being selfish when he chose to continue batting after lunch on day 3 of that test when he was on 390* and had already broken Hayden's 380 record ? He came out after lunch on day 3 just to make the 10 runs needed for 400*.[/size]

[/quote]Yes Lara was being selfish but that pales in comparison to Chanderpaul who  refuses to bat higher up and does not Sheppard the tail to protect his precious not out  .,I might be wrong but Chanderpaul has ran out more batsman than any other in test cricket, Batting averages matters more to Chanderpaul  than the state  of a match to him.
When you speak of selfishness look no further than Chanderpaul.

Quote:Chanderpaul who  refuses to bat higher up

I keep hearing this over and over.  Care to tell me how you know that this is fact? 

I have seen Chanderpaul open the batting, come in at 4, 5 etc. 

Please tell us how u know that he refuses to bat higher!!

[quote author=TRINIDADDY link=topic=92724.msg588339#msg588339 date=1410838895]
Nobody cares about his strike rate
tongue in cheek ? : I imagined listening to this incessant Bawling: from Mail and Chin  >Sad

[quote author=Goog Lee link=topic=92724.msg588360#msg588360 date=1410876195]
I keep hearing this over and over.  Care to tell me how you know that this is fact? 

I have seen Chanderpaul open the batting, come in at 4, 5 etc. 

Please tell us how u know that he refuses to bat higher!!
[/quote]Ask Rev .He is the expert on Chanderpaul

[quote author=ramesh link=topic=92724.msg588355#msg588355 date=1410875166]
Yes Lara was being selfish but that pales in comparison to Chanderpaul who  refuses to bat higher up and does not Sheppard the tail to protect his precious not out  .,I might be wrong but Chanderpaul has ran out more batsman than any other in test cricket, Batting averages matters more to Chanderpaul  than the state  of a match to him.
When you speak of selfishness look no further than Chanderpaul. [/quote]

This is the way this forum portrays Tiger but not sure how true this is in reality!

Bala make s a good point below as it made little difference in the context of the game and because of the landmark. I do not see the relevance of bringing Lara into it.

[quote author=bala24 link=topic=92724.msg588354#msg588354 date=1410874926]
yes he did..acc to me,but it was justifiable since that landmark was the one that redefined him.It was an elusive test score and until now it has been beaten..and moreover..the gap was just 10 runs.
I would say though he was greedy,his action was justifiable..
honestly..400* looks much better than 390*

Quote:yes he did..acc to me,but it was justifiable since that landmark was the one that redefined him.It was an elusive test score and until now it has been beaten..and moreover..the gap was just 10 runs.
I would say though he was greedy,his action was justifiable..
honestly..400* looks much better than 390*

good answer Bala..but yu doh have to be defensive and reticent. it was ambition an an opportunity to set a standard that had not bee done..as you defined Lara as truly unique.  I call it ambition

but Rev question is irrelevant anyway.  no one here is against shive.  he has his way and it has resulted in the career he has had and all in it.

if no one is against Shive then his career has been taken in stride by west indians and there is no need to compare Lara and Shive in any way.  so if no one claims Shive is greedy or ambitious to a fault what is the need to ask if Lara greedy too if not a means of absolution of shive..a mitigation totally unnecessary because no one is attacking either of these 2 west indian greats in any way save a lil picong about strike rate..needling 3 religious men for their unseemly faith

is the faith more than anything that drew the picong.  I doh see anybody concerned with Shive in any way save positive.  the problem is the 3 men

[quote author=ramesh link=topic=92724.msg588355#msg588355 date=1410875166]

[size=12pt]When you speak of selfishness look no further than Chanderpaul.[/size][/quote]

READ THIS FROM THE GREAT BASKETBALL PLAYER MICHAEL JORDAN AND LEARN RAMESH BAI:

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSsRzv3uBpAFNB4Pekf01k...We16pLi9kQ]

grabbing at straws Rev.  that is no way to build a church!

Quote:the problem is you 3  Rev, Googs and Ketchim

how me get involved? ::LOL::

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=92724.msg588380#msg588380 date=1410879004]
good answer Bala..but yu doh have to be defensive and reticent. it was ambition an an opportunity to set a standard that had not bee done..as you defined Lara as truly unique.  I call it ambition

I will second that any day...they haven't given the proverb "opportunity knocks once" for no reason at all.He couldn't had it another time right..?

[quote author=Mail link=topic=92724.msg588379#msg588379 date=1410878868]
This is the way this forum portrays Tiger but not sure how true this is in reality!

Bala make s a good point below as it made little difference in the context of the game and because of the landmark. I do not see the relevance of bringing Lara into it.
Thanks mail..Big Grin