3RD TEST: Will It Be SHILLINGFORD or GABRIEL ?

Rev Al · 06-22-2014, 11:27 AM

yuh on Rev! 

I like my sushi fresh..red on the inside.. tanned on the out.  no sal'
Tongue Tongue Tongue
Tongue Tongue
Tongue

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=90661.msg570907#msg570907 date=1403452412]
yuh on Rev! 

I like my sushi fresh..red on the inside.. tanned on the out.  no sal'
Tongue Tongue Tongue
Tongue Tongue
Tongue

Big Grin  Wink  ;D

Jason  Holder for Gabriel .. only change. I was impressed with Holder since I first saw him in the under 19 and he has done  nothing since  to change my  opinion of him . This lad belongs in the Windies team NOW

[quote author=Kwami link=topic=90661.msg570912#msg570912 date=1403453322]
Jason  Holder for Gabriel .. only change. I was impressed with Holder since I first saw him in the under 19 and he has done  nothing since  to change my  opinion of him . This lad belongs in the Windies team NOW

* If Holder plays---that would be 3 Bajan bowlers playing in the Barbadian test---Roach, Benn, and Holder. Big Grin

* In my opinion the 4th bowler will either be Gabriel or Shillingford.

Kensington Oval recent record does not suggest it is particularly spin-friendly.

Last year 14 of the 31 wickets fell to spin in West Indies' victory over Zimbabwe,

BUT but in the five previous Tests stretching to 2008 it was limited :

Eight out of 35 were spin-induced in West Indies' 2012 defeat to Australia;

five out of 33 in a draw with India;

14 out of 33 in the loss to South Africa;

eight out of 17 in the draw with England;

and ten out of 35 in another defeat to Australia.

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=90661.msg570929#msg570929 date=1403454432]
Kensington Oval recent record does not suggest it is particularly spin-friendly.

PART TIME SPINNER NARSINGH DEONARINE NEARLY BOWLED WI TO VICTORY AGAINST AUS IN 2012

* Deonarine 11-1-53-4

* On day 5---the Kensington wicket does give some assistance to spinners.

* Click on link to see the last WI/Aus match at Kensington---scorecard:

http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Ma...hCode=2058

* By the way, the windies will mostly likely retain the same 11 from Trinidad.

I think Ramdin may well stick with his fellow trinidadian.I will never forget that 53 off 29 and the 5 wickets he bagged,but sadly he will not get to the playing XI as ramdin will stick to the winning combo for sure.Also,without a doosra he doesn't stand a big chance to get those batsmen out.
Only time will tell and anxiety is flooding past to who Ramdin selects for the final test.

I'm thinking Ramdin would stick with the winning combo as well. I would personally pick Shilly though. I do rate Gabriel, but Roach and Taylor seems sufficient as far as pace attack goes.

[quote author=Kyle link=topic=90661.msg571223#msg571223 date=1403580691]
I'm thinking Ramdin would stick with the winning combo as well. I would personally pick Shilly though. I do rate Gabriel, but Roach and Taylor seems sufficient as far as pace attack goes.

* Whether it's Gabriel or Shilly----the #4 bowling slot has been strengthened with Sammy gone.

it will be Shannon! 

why?

1. A trini boi (for the Trini cappo)
2. don't change a winning formula
3. wicket will favor pace

Tongue