Bombay or Mumbai ?

ketchim · 09-09-2013, 11:11 AM · 3 people reading this discussion

why not rename the country itself

Quote:One of 6 original Indian Institutes of Technology (considered one of country's best engineering colleges) is in Mumbai and it's called IIT-Bombay. Hasn't been burned down last I heard.

They can't attack the IIT, since it is heavily guarded. But that isn't the case with other institutions:

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes....-shiv-sena

Quote:why not rename the country itself

The VHP is demanding that the country should be renamed as Hindustan. Another old name is Bharat.

[quote author=vest007 link=topic=83264.msg520536#msg520536 date=1378999124]

VHP is demanding that the country should be renamed as Hindustan. Another old name is Bharat.

Bhārata - ‎Hindustan - ‎Jambudvipa

Cick on each and Take your pick  Wink

Hindustan methink is Arabic from Persia....

[quote author=Mail link=topic=83264.msg520515#msg520515 date=1378988423]
vest,
I think you have put up a very articulate and informative discussion in this matter. Thank you.

Mail , when I post these threads , vest007 response is the kinda information I look forward to !

kwami from hindustan in Guyana tends to derail them with silly references to pakistan Tongue

Ceylon was renamed ....Sri Lanka  !

dont remember the year .......

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=83264.msg520566#msg520566 date=1379005327]
Mail , when I post these threads , vest007 response is the kinda information I look forward to !

kwami from hindustan in Guyana tends to derail them with silly references to pakistan Tongue
[/quote]  This is not square with the facts , name one instance where I have indulged in this Smile

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=83264.msg520564#msg520564 date=1379004785]
Pretty aggresive !
[/quote] The Times is a mouthpiece for the Congress party and that Italian waitress that Rajiv Gandhi unloaded on India
Read the Hindu for real news

[quote author=SpiralArchitect link=topic=83264.msg520401#msg520401 date=1378922048]
I need to start using this term.  8)

hahhhaa..  CHennai will never be use4d in Guyana.It will change the whole historical context of the east indian slaves from madras.

The name Yuh mad-rass stays.

I think kwami is was mad-rass hahhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=83264.msg520650#msg520650 date=1379038890]
hahhhaa..  CHennai will never be use4d in Guyana.It will change the whole historical context of the east indian slaves from madras.

The name Yuh mad-rass stays.

I think kwami is was mad-rass hahhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
[/quote] E ast Indian slaves  ? You crazy