Quote:funny ....just yesterday i was driving and i was thinking that "i love brampton".
i dont know why ppl say theres no white ppl - there are NUFF white ppl in brampton.
granted you see tons of indos, punjabis, paks, guyanese etc....but there are alot of black ppl and white ppl.
i am happy there - i havent changed anything about how present myself to my neighbors (moving from Mississauga to Brampton) - i still wear my indian outfits to the grocery store, we still play our music on our deck, nothing really changed for us.
its the Star. we don't know if what they cite is true or false! deh have a white woman front and centre! who is she?
I have lived in Canada for 42 years now. I know the Star well. deh have been doing that sort of thng for 42 years now..ever since I have know them. it was the Blacks in those day..no is allyuh turn
yet I do not agree with that kinda concentration of ethnicities in Canada....the community must grow into integrated diversity. but maybe I am putting the cart in front. it is early yet for this kind of immigration in canada..fifty years.
acculturation takes time. there have been many types of ethnic congregations in Canada that have dissipated into the regular community with time . what tends to turn me off about Indos is that does not seem to be with time to fuse into the canadian community but to impose India on it.
same with the chinese. we may at least have a cultural battle on our hands into the future, depending on how immigration grows
perhaps the real danger is the planned community develomenst we are all now being forced to live in and the social isolation it promotes and lack of social involvement..soical isolation really..by the planned housing developments we see taking place