14 Aug 2017 12:08 #348718
Sri Lanka 'keen' to visit Pakistan for T20s in September
Pakistan could be on the verge of hosting their highest-profile international visitor
in the last eight years
with Sri Lanka considering a visit for a T20 in September-October
14 Aug 2017 12:10 #348719
This would, in itself, represent an extraordinary gesture by SLC
given its own side had been the target of the 2009 terror attack
that stopped international cricket being played in Pakistan.
14 Aug 2017 12:16 #348720
"I am keen to take my team to Pakistan
I call upon each one of you as members to play your role and give Pakistan
the security of your support. There is always risk - there were two attacks in London
during the Champions Trophy - but cricket continued under the security
assurances of the ICC, so likewise we too must be as accommodating and
understanding as possible with our members and
extend our fullest support to them as the cricketing family of Asia "
SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala .
14 Aug 2017 12:20 #348721
sorry Thilanga, India seh this is Partition month
and Pakistan ain't no family
thanks for being a cousin, though !
after all that Pak attack was in support of Tamil vs Sinhalese
Hindu versus Buddhist war in Sri Lanka !
http://photogallery.indiatimes.com/photo/10364189.cms
14 Aug 2017 12:42 #348722
Thilan Samaraweera, who was shot in the thigh during the attack
has spoken about the trauma the incident had inflicted upon him and his family.
Other former players have also spoken of it as being one of the darkest days
of their lives..
14 Aug 2017 12:50 #348723
Sumathipala optimism is also indication that a deal has been reached.
With both boards and various governments keen for the match to be played
in Lahore, player protestations - if there are any -
may not be enough to halt that political will !
14 Aug 2017 14:38 #348731
by timmyj51
Absolutely
INSANE!!! Like jumping back into the shark tank you just escaped from!
Taliban jumpin' with joy! "We didn't get all 'em the first time, but we'll get the rest of 'em
THIS time!!! >
14 Aug 2017 16:52 - 15 Aug 2017 11:17 #348754
CU†@
cudell59 Aug 14
are those cricket bats on that shield?
Last edit: 15 Aug 2017 11:17 by