Windies chairman of selectors responds to Prime Minister Gonsalves

13 Aug 2016 12:33 #317427 by chairman

Windies chairman of selectors responds to Prime Minister Gonsalves

WEST Indies Cricket Board’s Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne has responded to a letter from Prime Minister of St Vincent and Grenadines, Dr Ralph Gonsalves, accusing him of meting out ‘shabby treatment’ to former West Indies T20 captain and two-time T20 World Cup winner Darren Sammy.Sammy, who won the ICC T20 World Cup in India in April, announced on his Facebook page last week that he received a 30-second phone call from Browne informing him that he was being sacked as West Indies captain and that his general performance did not merit his selection to the team.
“I find this shabby treatment of Mr Sammy to be unacceptable. Indeed I am sure that all right-thinking persons are extremely dissatisfied at your unceremonious and summary dismissal of Mr Sammy as captain and player,” Dr Gonsalves stated in the letter dated August 10, 2016.
“You simply cannot treat a former captain of the West Indies cricket team and a success of two World Cup T-20 championships with such disdain.”
Dr Gonsalves also questioned the timing of Sammy’s dismissal which came just prior to the start of the third Test being played at the recently renamed Darren Sammy National Stadium between the West Indies and India.
The Prime Minister called on Browne to make amends, suggesting that he and the president of the West Indies Cricket Board Dave Cameron apologise to Darren Sammy and the people of the Caribbean for their handling of the matter.
However, Browne in a measured response, acknowledged that Sammy had indeed served the West Indies well, but indicated that as the West Indies looked to the future, the former captain’s form was not up to par.
“As we look forward to the next World Cup and begin to develop a team to our defence of the title, the selectors had to assess the suitability of the captain to take the team forward. The fact is Mr Sammy’s personal performance as a bowling all-rounder has been lagging for a year.”
He highlighted that the West Indies captain has, in 11 matches, only bowled 10 overs between January 2015 and April 2016 and has a batting average of 10.20 runs per innings for the same period.
“The captain of any West Indies team must have solid performances and Mr Sammy did not meet such a standard, and therefore could not make the squad of 13 as a player at this time,” Browne said.
Browne also denied having a 30-second conversation with Sammy, but revealed that he had made several efforts to get in touch with the player and finally reached him to convey the selectors’ recommendation.
Browne stated that it was Mr Sammy who broke the news of his removal on social media before the Board met to review the recommendation and make a final decision.
Dr Gonsalves also recommended, in his letter, that the Board appoint Sammy to assist in the team’s preparation for the matches coming up against India on August 27 and 28 in Florida and that he be “accorded a role in shaping and massaging the transition to the new leadership and in facilitating renewal.”
The chairman of selectors responded saying that such roles would suggest that Sammy’s international career had ended.
“The role would suggest that Mr Sammy had retired from T20 cricket and we have received no such official notification,” Browne stated.
“I would urge Mr Sammy to take advantage of the regional competitions and put in strong performances and attempt to regain his position in the One Day International and T20 teams. Note, many cricketers and even great cricketers, have been dropped, have reestablished themselves, and have returned to West Indies teams.” (Sportsmax.com)

13 Aug 2016 12:39 #317428 by ketchim

Mapoui ??

13 Aug 2016 13:07 #317441 by TRINIDADDY
Browne seems to have missed the point of the letter he is responding to.

Gonsalves didn't say the WICB were wrong to drop Sammy. Gonsalves said the WICB handled the dropping like a bunch of goofballs.

T20 stats are misleading. Andre Russell averages about 15 or so over his last ten games. Both come in with few balls to spare. For example, in one WC innings vs NZ, Sammy made 10 runs at a strike rate of 333. There was only one over left in the game after he got out.

Sammy might be a waste of time at tests and ODIs, but he's still a good T20, last minute cowlasher.

I can only think of 2 games in the T20 WC where Sammy's batting hurt us: the final and the game vs Afghanistan.

13 Aug 2016 13:13 #317444 by mapoui

hahahahahahaha. 

dat is nonsense of course.  Sammy wasnt needed to perform as his team beat most teams without needing his contribution.

building a team for the future and the selection is Carlos ::confused::

a self defeating pick then. Carlos is not bettah dan Sammy in any way at all..has no first class averages to suggest he will be any way near to Sammy as player or winner as captain.

if the future is as crucial as Skourtney explains he must go younger and better than Carlos, more certain than Carlos, engendering more confidence in all than Carlos does.

Kieron Pollard offers all of that far more than Carlos does.  if Carlos was worth it he would have been in the team long ago.  he is already 28 years old. but Pollard is nto better than Sammy as leader.  and Sammy certainly will not be too old by the time the next T20 worlds come around.

Skourtney made a boo boo.  he wanted to insert another Bajan up tom in the cricket.  he has most top positions in the cricket if not all already in Bajan hands.

and this here:  we must not forget to hold this up relative to lil Jase.  let us see what the big Skourtney will do with lil Jase soon enuff ::confused:: ::confused::

13 Aug 2016 13:17 #317445 by mapoui

dat is a Bajan signature... superior skunts deh all are....but particularly Skourtney and his mentor Tony Howard, who was a downright socially nasty customer >:( >:( >:( >:(

13 Aug 2016 13:20 #317446 by ketchim
Look man , you guys not getting the Message

Pollard was a ring leader in the India walk off the job.

Sammy Pollard and Bravo will NEVER represent the Maroon again.

why de arse y'all struggling with this ????  >:(

13 Aug 2016 13:32 - 14 Aug 2016 13:29 #317451 by mapoui

who struggle with anything.. ::confused::  you struggle ::confused:: ::confused:: to state an easy obvious argument is to struggle. ::confused:: ::confused::

seems to me is you building up the sweat.  ease up!  why dont you go dong by Moosai an' dem for a minute...eat some doubles, drink TT wartuh ::) ::)

:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
:-[ :-[
:-[
Last edit: 14 Aug 2016 13:29 by mapoui.

13 Aug 2016 14:12 #317460 by ketchim
WHY you still recommending Pollard ??

you know he was a ringleader that cost 41 Million.

you know he is BLACKlisted as a result by his Employer.

YET yuh continue to recommend him as a Captain.

13 Aug 2016 14:45 - 14 Aug 2016 13:31 #317471 by mapoui

I recommend Pollard because I hold no such thing against him.  you cyan go on wit' dat if you like.  but I wun have anything to do wit' dat at all
Last edit: 14 Aug 2016 13:31 by mapoui.

• 413x
14 Aug 2016 11:48 #317545 by 413x
Darren Sammy. From that day and that speech in Kolkata your days were numbered, and everybody knew it, and expected something to happen.

Time to create page: 0.228 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Jocelynn