20 Apr 2016 12:03 #301747
On Carnival Tuesday, the climax of the season of festivities in Trinidad and Tobago, Asami Nagakiya was murdered; her body, found on Ash Wednesday, was still clad in her costume. Asami, a petite 30-year-old, had been an avid steel pan player, journeying from her home in Japan annually to partake in the music and the masquerade.
This year was her last. She was strangled and bundled in the underbrush of a tree in the vicinity of Queen's Park Savannah. Bruise marks surfaced but the autopsy results, released five weeks later, would rule out a sexual assault.
The mayor of the city of Port-of-Spain, Raymond Tim Kee, took the opportunity of her murder to admonish women for vulgar behaviour, reportedly saying, "the woman has the responsibility to ensure that [she is] not abused". He cited his pre-Carnival sermon: "My argument was, you could enjoy Carnival without going through that routine… of prancing and partying. Then why you can't continue with that and maintain some kind of dignity?"
ESPNCRICINFO A MUST READ
20 Apr 2016 16:25 #301789
This is quite a sad incident and condolences to her loved ones.
Apart from this incident, Trinbago ranks in the top 10 Internationally for Homicides per capita (2014) ...nothing to be proud of.
A few years ago whilst visiting a certain Ms Naipaul was abducted for ransom, never to be discovered and the trend continues.
Certain ethnicity of women are prone to rape which is so tragic.
On the other hand both men and women should take precautions to deter unnecessary attention except men are visual and more prone to sexual improprieties than women will ever be.
I really do not see the merits in the way women dress.
All of this said, no excuse for what happened to this young lady.
RIP
21 Apr 2016 16:18 #301901
Thank you for that.
Yes I am out of touch and when I am there, I am mainly away from 'the reality'.
Has it got anything to do with the influx of Guyanans by any chance?
21 Apr 2016 16:50 - 26 Apr 2016 11:43 #301906
Chin , where is yuh Donkey Giggles : lemme fix this for you :
Last edit: 26 Apr 2016 11:43 by
ali
21 Apr 2016 22:20 #301914
by ali
Good expose on the tribulations to be a female cricket writer
22 Apr 2016 05:58 #301925
by pwarbi
Sadly that's the case in many countries around the world, and respect and old fashioned values though have been replaced with a new generation of people who are only looking out for themselves.
As for the government, maybe they are too inept to handle the situation, or maybe they're not worried about it in the first plac? When you look at the number of murders in most countries, it's the poorer people that are being killed and doing the killing anyway, so have they got any incentives to get involved if it's not affecting their own?
22 Apr 2016 07:07 #301926
You're correct. The government is only superficially worried about crime.
Trinidad is the third richest country by GDP per capita in the Americas after the United States and Canada. It has superpower level "wealth". But wealth breeds exclusion and poverty, and money itself has no value unless a chunk of your society is poor. And the poor eventually get violent. And so you get superpower level violence. Trinidad's solution since about 2005 has been to shoot and jail everyone; a kind of slow genocide on a section of the uneducated, violent, poor underclass.
The government and the populace as a whole enjoy these vengeful blood frenzies. Wild West justice appeals to people incapable of understanding poverty, let alone sympathising with "uncivlized", "murderous criminals".
Almost every country went through a similar phase. In Victorian England, laws were being plucked out of the air and invented on the spot to justify hanging the poor. After these purges you typically get drops in social violence and then a slow evolution in law enforcement and justice (more jails, more lenient sentences and so on).