Watching your world collapse Ben Stokes

• Chin
07 Apr 2016 20:59 #300338 by Chin
Watching your world collapse
by Vishaal Loganathan • Last updated on Monday, 04 April, 2016, 04:30 AM

It takes something prodigious for you to get to a phase during which you are one of the select few who get to represent the country. But then, you've to get the timing right. You could end up never playing in a world event despite being one of the best your country has ever produced. Just ask VVS Laxman.

You need to be in the select fifteen from amongst millions, sometimes billions, to get the chance. And you need most things to work in your favour.

Form? Decent to good.
Physical fitness? Top notch.
Adaptability? Check.
Morale? High.
Match-winning ability? At its peak.
Problems with the board? Not that I know of.
Media handling? Meh, that's okay. We'll work on that later.

You're finally there. At your zenith and ready to conquer the world. You're pulling on the dream jersey, and playing like a dream, too. Then, there's the stage where the stakes could not probably go higher. This is my moment. Like the final over of a ICC World T20, for example, and you're given your chance to defend 19. One ball can make or break the game, the tournament, the season, perhaps careers, even.

You've done this before, albeit not on such a big stage, not in front of 66000 people, and not on a pitch like this. I got this, you tell yourself. You're bowling to a relative newbie, and he's perhaps wilting more under pressure.

You square up, wipe your sweat, run in and let it rip... Ouch!

Four balls later, you find yourself squatting mid-pitch in disbelief; struggling to keep the tears in as your teammates console you. It's okay, they say. Happens to the best. You want to believe it, but your mind keeps taking you back to those four balls.

If only I had pitched it higher up; if only it was much straighter; if only...

You've just crashed into your big sports lesson. Things won't always go your way. And when they don't, no matter how much you will it to, there's no going back. There are only learnings.

Ben Stokes, like Hardik Pandya found out a few days ago, would have realised how lonely sport can be. Needing to concede anything lesser than 18 to give his side their second ICC World T20 title, the medium-pacer ended up being thrashed for four consecutive sixes by Carlos Brathwaite to concede the game and the World T20 title to West Indies.

As the third six was crossing the ropes over long off, Stokes had his head in his hands. He knew it was over. West Indies weren't going to botch up their chase from here. Next ball, Brathwaite sent the ball into the crowd for the fourth consecutive time and his side and their supporters into raptures. Stokes sunk down at the point where his follow through had ended, and wept. It took all of four deliveries for everything to come crashing down.

Sport is all fun till you start crying. Last year, Andrea Pirlo and AB de Villiers broke down, and smashed a billion other hearts world over. It shows sincerity and the sides of the players not often seen, but the helplessness as you watch is near unbearable.

"You can say what you like to him at the moment, but he's probably not hearing it. I have literally reiterated the exact same words," England captain, Eoin Morgan had said about Ben Stokes during the post-game press conference.

"He is going to be devastated, and it'll take its toll over the next couple of days, but we share everything that we do. We stick together as a side, we share the pain, we share the success. Certainly tonight, we share the pain"

It is heartwarming to hear that the captain of your side has got your back, and more importantly wants the rest of the team to share the sorrow, too. Morgan's words maybe empty to Stokes now, what with him having to go through a barrage of commiserations from near and far. But if the captain can prove that his words are more than just hollow promises said in front of a packed media house, Stokes can shake off the shock of the loss sooner than expected.

© Getty
Still 24, the allrounder features as one of England's most important players as they try to put themselves at the top of the heap. He is already a key figure for the English in all three formats, and it's imperative for the team to protect their valuable asset.

The mind, once mentally scarred, can take a long time to heal. But vital to the healing process would be for it to understand that there are people to support its owner. To stand by him and fight with him, and if needed, for him.

Sport maybe viewed as entertainment by the fans, who can shrug off losses with a few foul-mouthed rants on social media or by throwing garbage onto the grounds, but to the players, it is a way of life. And losses and poor performances can certainly have their impact.

Hence, the ability to deal with losses and setbacks becomes paramount. It goes without saying that some setbacks find their spots deep within and hurt more than the others, especially when your performance, or the lack of it, directly influenced the defeat. But it needs to be directed such that it makes you stronger and gets you to prepare better.

Stokes will be surrounded by wretchedness, no doubt, but he must see it as an opportunity to make himself a better player, both mentally and physically. And Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss, as captain and coach of the England cricket team, have to ensure they get him and their team to think that way.

You won't be made to forget this in a hurry. The media will want to know what you went through and how you overcame it. Later on, some will, perhaps, write about how this was the turning point in your career. Replays of the epic finish will play over and over in your head, and if not, then on the telly every time you think you've put it behind you. 'Champion' will be stuck in your head forever.

But you would've learnt from it. Next time, you will know what not to do, even if you don't know what exactly needs to be done. You may even be sharing the advice with a younger member of your team. You'll learn to laugh at it soon enough. And you would have come out a better cricketer, as a result.

You'll never look back.

www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/79094/icc-...y-vishaal-loganathan

08 Apr 2016 11:30 #300366 by pwarbi
I think we can only hope that Stokes learns from this and he comes back a better player. Now is not the time to be asking the questions as to why he bowled that over and why he bowled it the way he did.

Players do come back better from experiences like he's had, my only worry is that not many come back from an experience like that in a world final of a major tournament, watched by millions of people around the world.

08 Apr 2016 14:32 #300412 by dillinger10
I am not sure how familiar you are with Stokesy, but he is arguably one of toughest cricketers in the game today, both mentally and physically. He is a bulldog. It was only a few months back that he came out to bat one handed against Pakistan after he dislocated his shoulder to face Wahab Riaz steaming in at 90mph. He didn't back down from that challenge.

He has also spoke at great length over the years about always wanting the ball or bat in his hand during crunch time. He is a tough son of a gun that fights fire with fire. He loves a bit of banter and will take this on the chin and move on.

08 Apr 2016 14:39 #300415 by ketchim
Whaddabout when he PUNCH the locker room and broke his knuckles  :-\

08 Apr 2016 14:43 #300418 by dillinger10
He's a ginger. It's par for the course :P

08 Apr 2016 14:47 #300420 by ketchim
Lets send him a Hair Color and hope for a change !  :-[

08 Apr 2016 14:57 #300425 by dillinger10
Haha, that reminds of arguably my favourite line head on commentary so far this year when Stokes and Bairstow carved up South Africa in Cape Town: "This is the greatest Ginger partnership since Astaire and Rogers." :)

08 Apr 2016 15:01 #300426 by ketchim

Yeah I recall , brilliant line indeed !

Jonny is so different than Ben , though !

08 Apr 2016 15:11 #300430 by dillinger10
We should come up with an all red-head XI. Some great gingers have set foot on the field through the years: Pollock, Guptill, McDermott, Chris Rogers, Paul Collingwood, Ryan Sidebottom, Dougie Brown to name but a few.

Time to create page: 0.179 seconds
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 02:16)(02:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 19:51)(19:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
Emilio