Clive Lloyd has made a passionate plea to international powers

02 Jan 2016 11:31 #286274 by chairman
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/styles/large/public/field/image/Untitled-4_187.jpg?itok=Sr0IUeg3
(CMC)SYDNEY—West Indies legend Clive Lloyd has made a passionate plea for the international powers to offer more assistance to West Indies cricket.

Lloyd, the captain of the all-conquering team of 1970s and 80s, is chairman of selectors and is with the team in Australia for the ongoing Frank Worrell trophy series.

Speaking on a wide range of topics, he argued that the game in the Caribbean was in need of resources to aid with development and progression, and called on the world governing body, the International Cricket Council, to act on its behalf.

“To run cricket you have to have quite a lot of money. We’re not as wealthy as the other countries. We did well in the 70s and 80s because we were coming as champions and if you’re coming as champions you can demand something,” the 71-year-old Lloyd told reporters here Friday.

“So now if you’re not champions you don’t get things thrown at you and unfortunately we need things thrown our way so we’re able to compete with the bigger countries.”

He continued: “People must realise where West Indies is concerned, we have a plethora of islands … we can’t drive anywhere … we have to fly everywhere. To fly from Guyana to Jamaica takes four to five hours. And each island has different cultures.

“So we need to have more money to help us because, don’t forget, when we play our cricket it is high season and hotel rates are very exorbitant. We’re not as wealthy as the other countries.”

Lloyd has been hailed as the architect of one of the greatest periods of sporting dominance when West Indies dominated world cricket.

That era stemmed from a defeat to Australia in 1975-76, after which the regional side ruled the cricket world for 20 years. During that period, they won the World Cup in 1975 and 1979 under Loyd’s captaincy.

Also a former team manager, Lloyd said the present side in Australia had the potential to become a match-winning outfit but needed to gain more experience in foreign conditions.

“If a team comes to any country they should be able to play enough warm-up games to get accustomed to the conditions. We’ve travelled 12,000 miles and it’s different here,” Lloyd pointed out.

“We had jetlag, there’s the heat, the hardness of the grounds, it’s just getting accustomed to a lot of things and two four-day games would probably have put us in good stead.

“It showed in the last game at the MCG we batted fairly well on a pretty good Test pitch so I’m sure the guys will give a good account of themselves in the long run. But it will take some time to build a Test team.

“We have to try and look to build a team that’s going to stand us in good stead for the future.”

Lloyd was also quick to hail the work of newly appointed Test captain Jason Holder. He said the 24-year-old had shown great character in handling the pressure of the tour.

“Jason continues to do a great job both on and off the field. He knew what it would be like before he took the job and he has handled himself very well on this tour,” Lloyd said.

“There has been a lot of pressure on him, but we saw how he bowled and especially the way he batted in the last match. That demonstrated his mettle. He’s mature beyond his years and will continue to do well for us.” (CMC)

02 Jan 2016 12:02 #286283 by ketchim
West Indies captain Jason Holder has thrown his support behind Kevin Pietersen's call

for a central ICC fund to provide more competitive wages to cricket's less wealthy nations.

www.espncricinfo.com/australia-v-west-in...nt/story/957183.html

02 Jan 2016 12:25 #286284 by ketchim
Pietersen had said.

"Andre Russell is bowling at 150kph, whacking big sixes in the Big Bash.

He should be doing that in a Test match, he shouldn't be doing it here.

Right, we need Gayle, we need even [Kieron] Pollard,

we need [Darren] Sammy, we need Bravo...

02 Jan 2016 12:51 - 02 Jan 2016 12:58 #286296 by mapoui
why does not clive Lloyd just phuck right off, disappear already man.  go to phuck away man and leave alone what you cant fix...what you have no idea of how to fix!

phuck international assistance.  there is no such thing as international assistance.  what international assistance would require is an altruism that does not exist.  that is forrin to human experience and history.

we have to rely on our own resources Clive, on our abilities and natural resources, on our brains of which you have the least you big elitist lackey skunt.

there will be a price to pay for all 'international assistance.' it will come with a price tag we cannot afford to pay you jackass.  you do not want to pay that price.  you want to rely on your own resources, to build your house on your own ground so that you have to toe no ones line but your own.

you must be prepared to live on what you have always mining your own reality for improvement and upward mobility. you have millions of people and a strong diaspora waiting for the self reliant nationlism in the west indies to emerge, to mine fully and promote development and regional prosperity.  we know we can achieve that if we would stand up as men and women in our own right and interest.  but we get this supine begging approach crap from you Lloyd

man there is no answer in that but more slavery.  if that is what you want go england and offer yuh skunt up to white people to do with you as they see fit... but leave us out of that yuh hear.  man just eff off willya!  disappear!

let them keep deh assistance. let them stuff it up deh collective rarse.  the solution to west indian problems is not more tainted money but the proper democratization of our society and of our cricket..the true and proper development of our people, clearing away the degrading baggage of centuries of slavery, indenture and colonialism

if you cant address the west indian reality in its full and true and accurate nature Lloyd, and by and through that develop approaches to resolution, then piss off LLoyd >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Last edit: 02 Jan 2016 12:58 by mapoui.

02 Jan 2016 12:56 #286297 by ketchim
www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/956963.html

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Released: Darren Sammy

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Released: Kevin Pietersen

02 Jan 2016 12:58 #286298 by ketchim
memo to KP : Sammy was CUT and released from IPL AND so were you  ::LOL::

02 Jan 2016 13:00 #286299 by ketchim

hahahaha: the entire Caribbean has ZERO ability , resources and Brain  :-[

Hence the current state of affairs

02 Jan 2016 13:03 #286300 by mapoui

yes we do...just mus' be redirected!  the begging wont help! >:( >:( >:(

02 Jan 2016 13:20 #286303 by ketchim
NO , we do not !

Caricom brains are scattered ...Board directors brains are $$$ and Cents. .

Individual Brain thrust of  Wilkins, Patterson , Ramphal et al : no one unnastans !

It is a truly pitiful situation....

Clive jus hang out him panhandler hat
                                                  https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTUeeALgZwfsrKRb-p3AL3TiaSgio5aEppRjhxSy9Fr86rCiGp2BizwTx4

02 Jan 2016 13:55 #286307 by ketchim
www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-01-01/form...rector-slams-critics

Mapoui slammed !

Former director of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Dr Allen Sammy says that :

cricket pundits who have been attacking the board have not done their homework. :P

Time to create page: 0.218 seconds
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 20:22)(20:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 18:40)(18:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 02:16)(02:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 19:51)(19:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
Grayson