Sir Garry says Lloyd’s team the greatest one ever

26 Oct 2015 12:41 #276088 by chairman
COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (CMC) — Sir Garfield Sobers has hailed Clive Lloyd’s all conquering team of the 1970s and 80s as the greatest in the sport, the likes of which will probably not be seen again.
The legendary all-rounder made the assertion as he spoke passionately here earlier this week to members of the cricket fraternity.“In the 1970s and 1980s and into the 1990s, West Indies were champions and had the best players in the world,” Sir Garry said.
“I don’t think you’ll see that again in the history of cricket. They were simply the best team in the world, the greatest cricket team ever, and probably one of the greatest sports teams ever.
“People talk about the fast bowlers, but I don’t call them fast bowlers, I call them express bowlers. You had Michael Holding and Andy Roberts coming at you and when they were finished you had Colin Croft and Joel Garner to follow up. There was no let up.”
He continued: “Waiting in the wings you had Wayne Daniel and ‘my boy’ Sylvester Clarke, who was just as quick as anyone going around. Malcolm (Marshall) came along a little later and he was just world-class. So this made for a tremendous bowling attack.
“You must remember that before the West Indies produced that kind of attack there was always two quick bowlers, a medium pacer and a spinner. But then Clive Lloyd came up with the master plan and the world had to contend with something they had never seen before – four big strong men bowling at express pace.”
As part of their world dominance, Lloyd’s team won the first World Cup in 1975 when they beat Australia at Lords and repeated in 1979 when they rolled over England at the famous venue.
The side went on to dominate the longer format under Lloyd and then under his successor, Sir Vivian Richards, who never lost a Test during his time in charge.
Sir Garry pointed out that Sir Viv, along with several other batsmen, made Lloyd’s team extra special.
“Clive was a great captain and a great leader and he was also a tremendous player … he was respected by everyone,” Sir Garry continued.
“They dominated because they had the amazing players. When you looked at the batting line-up, they had Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes, the great opening combination, the best opening pair of the time.
“Then you had Viv Richards and Lawrence Rowe and Alvin Kallicharan, players who really established themselves and dominated. Larry Gomes and Richie Richardson followed and that made the team quite powerful.
“They had someone special in every department. They had it all. I don’t think you will ever see that again. It was simply a great team.”
Sir Garry is in Sri Lanka for the second Test match of the Sobers/Tissera Series between West Indies and Sri Lanka. The two-match rubber is named in honour of Sir Garry and Michael Tissera, the former Sri Lanka player and manager.
The two were the captains when West Indies played a three-day unofficial ‘Test’ against Ceylon back in 1967.
Sir Garry is universally hailed as the greatest Test all-rounder ever. He played 93 Test matches between 1954 and 1974 and made 8,032 runs, took 235 wickets and held 109 catches.

26 Oct 2015 16:10 #276115 by ketchim
whaddabout Lloyd selected XI in Sri Lanka :

that just got some serious lixxxxxxxx  :-\

wuh garry seh ?

26 Oct 2015 16:12 #276116 by ketchim
then the Pakistan tandem took over "express pace"  ;)

27 Oct 2015 10:33 #276160 by Googley
Gary said that Viv never lost a test match.  Really??? 

27 Oct 2015 17:06 #276302 by dillinger10
Good eye, Googs. As captain under Viv, West Indies had 27 wins, 8 losses and 15 draws - however, they did not lose a series under his reign. I think Garry misspoke or was misquoted and should have said, never lost a Test series while in charge.

On a related note, my favourite unbeaten stat is Jeff Dujon never playing in a losing Test series. 81 Tests played, 0 series lost.

27 Oct 2015 17:33 #276309 by ketchim
www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/933414.html

The Bravo-Pollard conundrum supports his point 35 years later.  :-[

28 Oct 2015 18:39 #276603 by Rowe992
It is now full time we move away from the past glory days of West Indies cricket and focus on the failing team that we have in modern times. Talking about which team was the best will not help West Indies cricket today!

29 Oct 2015 15:06 #276812 by dillinger10
Interesting points from Tony as always. He hits on one of the points I made earlier in the week regarding players earning a good living playing T20 globally and so have no need or desire to represent their country on an international level.

29 Oct 2015 15:20 #276818 by ketchim

So they really do become "prima donnas"

and finds it fairly easy to walk off the job  ***sigh*** :(

29 Oct 2015 15:23 #276820 by dillinger10
That is a major problem. There is no deterrent or punishment. If they walk off the job, they can simply go and collect a big fat pay cheque from the IPL, CPL, Big Bash, PSL etc..

Time to create page: 0.189 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Kori