Ashton
27 Aug 2015 18:36 #269216
by Ashton
London: Worcestershire have signed West Indies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel for the final two matches of their County Championship campaign, the Midlands side announced on Thursday.
The 27-year-old will replace Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, who is returning home following next week’s game against Sussex.
Gabriel will be available for the First Division fixtures against Durham at Chester-le-Street and Middlesex at New Road, Worcestershire’s home ground, subject to the West Indies Cricket Board granting him a no objection certificate, which clears him to play domestic cricket in England.
“This will be my first taste of county cricket and I am looking forward to the challenge of keeping Worcestershire in Division One of the Championship,†said Gabriel in a Worcestershire statement.
“I know it is only for two matches but I am hoping to make a big contribution.â€
zsk77
28 Aug 2015 00:58 #269231
by dillinger10
Given my rooting interests, from a purely selfish standpoint, I hope Gabriel is ineffective. However, as Saeed Ajmal hasn't been particularly effective for Worcs this season, this will be an upgrade for them and a nice boost.
Hampshire, Worcestershire, Sussex and Somerset are all fighting to avoid relegation to Division Two. Two of them will end up being relegated at the end of the season. Hampshire are bottom and have their work cut out. It is going to take a monumental performance to stay up. I am hoping that Fidel Edwards earns his money over the next 4 county championship matches and can produce some magic.
28 Aug 2015 09:05 #269235
Fidel..an Otis bwoy!
maybe Otis an drop by and give him some support support!
28 Aug 2015 09:54 #269239
Shannon cannot even hold the Seam upright and hence a poor seamer !
Hope Worcs hav a better bowling Coach !
but he big and straang ;D
29 Aug 2015 14:13 #269410
by Big Cat
I wish they revert to the old days, when most West Indians could have played county cricket. We will rule the world again in cricket.
29 Aug 2015 23:25 #269442
by Rowe992
Well let's hope he actually takes wickets in those two matches and not just give away runs. My problem with Gabriel is that he doesn't seem to be a bowler that looks like he will take a wicket.
30 Aug 2015 02:13 #269446
by dillinger10
Gabriel will likely find the English conditions very much to his liking. In his only Test match in England, Gabriel picked up 4/86 in the match with an excellent strike rate of 39.7. He will face Durham and Middlesex in his two matches.
Fidel Edwards has had a great year for Hampshire in the first division, picking up 22 wickets (including two 5-wicket hauls) at an average of 21.45.