WICB to create commercial entity

09 Aug 2015 17:37 #267105 by chairman
KINGSTON, Jamaica (CMC) – The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) wants to create a commercial entity to increase the board’s revenue intake.

President of the WICB Dave Cameron said the regional board must find other ways to improve its financial status. However, he credits the improved relations between the WICB and the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) for the financial windfall.

“We believe that for West Indies cricket to go forward we need to find a way to separate the commercial from the socio-political issues and so while we’ll have West Indies Cricket Board, we’ll have a separate commercial entity that will clearly distinguish our commercial rights and sell them according to commercial guidelines,” he said while addressing the latest in a series of regional town-hall meetings in Jamaica.

Cameron, accompanied by Vice President Emmanuel Nanthan, said that despite the board’s effort to improve the game in the region, some territorial boards and franchises have not been professional in their operations and could be penalised for their tardiness.

“I’m particularly disturbed because the new season for 2015/16 started on August 1 and there are only two franchises that actually have programmes ready for the year,” he said.

“So while you put pressure on the WICB to account ensure that you’re putting pressure on the territorial boards and all the franchises to account because they are all being given a substantial amount of resources to ensure that our cricket goes forward.”

He said that the formation of the Professional Cricket League (PCL) is part of the plan to improve the game in the region. However, he warns that some franchises could miss out on the monthly allocations of US$45,000, part of which comes from the PCL Fund for Development.

“We are saying that the PCL is a new business and franchises need to run a quality professional set up. Some of them haven’t done that and the board has taken a decision that if franchises do not comply with the standard etc. then there could be penalties. And the only penalty that we could exact is the withholding of funds.”

The PCL, which now captures up to 120 players plus officials in a pool, is hailed as one of the new programmes to re-establish the sport over the next few years.

This is PCL, the President says, “increases the number of first class games to 10 in a season, while leaving the window open for the IPL and the CPL, offering players an additional opportunity to maximise earnings.”

Cameron also summarised a number of programmes the Board is currently involved in “aiming at being efficient and effective as we as a region seek to re-invest in the sport that we all love so much”.

Vice President, Nanthan pledged the Board’s continuous drive towards unity and the coordinated approach to re-engaging the general cricket community.

Nanthan referred to the work of the newly-formed West Indies Retired Players Foundation (WIRPF) and the impact that the town-hall meetings should have. Nanthan continued to raise the issue of stakeholder involvement and the role each Caribbean citizen has to play.

The meeting also discussed the absence of the senior team from the 2017 Champions trophy, the role of regional governments in ensuring that cricket is taught in schools, team bonding and building for on and off the field performance and how the WICB handle the overexposure of youngsters to the Twenty20 version of the game.

Other issues of governance, marketing and skills development were also discussed.

The next town-hall meeting is scheduled for Antigua at a date to be announced.

09 Aug 2015 20:18 #267111 by mapoui
ha ha ha ha ahahaha!

well it looks like my time is done with west indies cricket.  the neo liberals are in full charge and their program is being effected.  at the end of the day the players will end up enslaved or the cricket dies.  this neo liberal model with destroy the game as we know it in the region.

commercial enterprises, like all other forms of existence have a natural purpose to their existence. the purpose of a business is to make money.  that purposes consumes everything in its path,  all becomes geared to that purpose.

a bureaucracy also has a purpose..and that purpose is to survive off revenue produced by others. 

when the planters ran west indies cricket they did not need to be paid.  they took no money and allowed of a simple secretariat to do the work.  they were paid and all expenses met in that way.  once you establish a bureau full of workers then the bureau takes on a life of its own and finds money to be paid where it can within the purview of their activity..cricket.

the wicb now fully established as a bureau has taken west indies cricket and bent it to its will..the will of the bureau for the bureaus purpose of huge payments to its staff, all of who now live better than the players off the money/revenue the players earn. player pay has been reduced to bare minimum but no one has a clue as to what the bureau pays itself.

now the wicb wants to expand into a commercial adjunct the question begs..what is its real purpose.  it must be for the benefit of the bureau at the expense of all others involved..and in the process all opposition must be eliminated.  that means the team must be homogenized so it never again becomes a problem to the wicb as in opposition to what they want to do with the cricket.

so selection to the west indies team from now one depends entirely on subservience to the board not on talent. shive is gone...Bravo, Bravo, Gayle, lil Simmons etc.  all gone.  no wonder Lil Bravo has been playing so indifferently, as if he no longer cares .  he does not indeed.  he has seen whats coming and he is not really happy about it.

so a slave team is coming..enslaved cricket of one size and shape..T20 like Jam and Whine music.  and crowds of young people weaned on party all they know is T20 and mindless jammin'

so W Cameron of Jamaica is a monster, a ruthless individual who is moving all in his path to create a neo liberal wicb/west indies cricket. its a business allyuh but what it really means is a feeding frenzy for the wicb under massive exploitation of the game and the players and the fans

allyuh jess watch and enjoy.  and in the process don't be sooprised if we loose sketchim to the wicb.  all the shillin he do here for ole Skam, the wicb no doubt they have a job waiting for him up in there at big dough.

oh bwoy! so this is what the new world will be like..people like Skameron running roughshod over ordinary west indians, with sketchim as henchman.....Tony Howards old role.

10 Aug 2015 09:25 #267123 by The Captain
is you who kicked the planters out

10 Aug 2015 10:17 #267125 by mapoui
deh had to go of course..nothing can stay the same...not even this current rotten dispensation. but in  kicking them out this is not what I expected or wanted.

and now we find that we did not kick them out at all..dat it was all a game to get the changes needed to upgrade social control....a streamlining of the processes of social control so to speak.  we won no independence. we were given a form that removed the man from direct control and cost to him of that control, shifting the cost load onto us

in place of governor and colonial administration..which he paid for out of the cash he extracted from us..we now have national administrations and prime ministers and president etc.  that we now pay for directly..money ole Marse can safely put back into his pocket. no more governors and administrators, school teachers etc., to pay.  more profit for ole Marse..less cost and headache. 

if the people revolt they do so against their own leaders who now work for ole Marse although he takes the time to hide the obvious connections

the thing to do is not to be nostalgic over ole Marse. I wasn't..I am not...just pointing out the
absolute nastiness of the black class that took over and now work for ole Marse, plundering us in his interest for some of the loot that sticks to their fingers in the transfers between Port of Spain, Bridgetown, Georgetown..up the chain to Kingston

we know now what and whom to beat then to get what we had in mind when we 'kick dem out' we still have that in mind I hope...a real west inndian democracy :D :D :D :D :D

10 Aug 2015 10:40 #267135 by Rowe992
Well that is all they are interested in! It is all about the money for them while the development of West Indies cricket takes the back bench. I hope When the West Indies has been relegated to Associate member in odi and test cricket then the board will really feel the financial pinch.

10 Aug 2015 10:42 #267138 by ketchim

Lemme go put some pressure on the local Boards

OR have poison pen Mapoui blast dem arse  !  ;D

10 Aug 2015 10:45 #267139 by mapoui
he say there has been vast improvement between the board and the players. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

oh mi god!  wat a terrible fellow!  he smash the wipa rendering it unable to defend itself.  and he call dat better relations.

he musta grow up with white people ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

10 Aug 2015 11:11 #267148 by ketchim
He pointing out the Abdullah TnT trade union activist bwoy Ramnarine is NO longer !

Din-ass Pelting chair pun board official is NOT considered good relations  :P

10 Aug 2015 11:33 #267152 by mapoui
so when you taking up your wicb appointment sketchum ::confused::

what deh have plan fuh you..media officer..and an office right next to Skameron ::confused::

10 Aug 2015 11:34 #267153 by ketchim
Not because I am pointing out your OBFUSCATION means i suppote de board  :P

U are an expert at obfuscating the truth by being evasive, unclear, or obscure in the telling of the facts.

Yuh damn well know he is referring to civil behavior instead of pelting chair !

Time to create page: 0.182 seconds
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Skylar