09 Aug 2015 12:55 #267066
by dillinger10
The South Africa A squad currently touring in Chennai has been ravaged by food poisoning with 10 players hospitalised before, during and after their one-day clash against India A today.
At one point during the match, South Africa A were forced to use their video analyst Henrikus Coertzen in the field, as well as India A’s Mandeep Singh.
This is the one time where having a case of the runs was a bad thing

Be curious to find out what they were eating.
www.cricket.com.au/news/ten-south-africa...n-chennai/2015-08-09
09 Aug 2015 13:46 #267072
oh geeeeeeeeeeedee! :'( :'( :'(
if it was you ketchim yo would turn dat gastro into creepers..poison everybody by air. unfortunate you not there to show dem how ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
teams will have to walk with their own chiefs now, with money buy fresh groceries every day to prepare....
or the team cud walk with prepared rations like soldiers
09 Aug 2015 14:23 #267076
I recall going to a team mates wedding here in Toronto : and we eat and drink .
Next day was our semi final : we all end up in the Toilets at the Ground !
It was the Garam Masala from Chennai (formerly Madras) that the wedding Curry was cooked with !! ::LOL::
09 Aug 2015 14:41 #267079
by dillinger10
Perhaps not surprisingly, this not the first time teams have struggled with food poisoning during a tour of India. A dodgy prawn curry did Graham Gooch in during England's tour of India in 1993, while Richard Hadlee and others were also felled by food poisoning during their tour of India in 1988 that resulted in former New Zealand captain, Jeremy Coney, coming out of his 18-month retirement along with his fellow journalist, Ken Nicholson, to act as substitute fielders.
Gooch talking about the incident:
www.mid-day.com/articles/graham-gooch-re...ing-experience/59341
09 Aug 2015 15:10 #267082
so whats the solution Dilly ::confused::
I say teams walk with their own chiefs and kitchen staff. or walk with rations.
curry and spices at the best of time threatens thin bellies..although I wud not have expected dat from Saffies..is africa deh from..born and bred.
deh mus' live sheltered in Africa :

09 Aug 2015 15:40 #267089
by dillinger10
Given the age we live in, with a stricter regiment on diet and fitness across all sports, I am surprised more teams don't employ their own chefs, especially when on tour. I believe that Australia employ their own chef,
Govardhan Govindaraj
, for home matches, though don't think he accompanies them when they are on tour.
England did provide an 82-page list of catering demands for their last tour of Australia but still required the food to actually be catered by chefs in Australia.
www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/cricket/intern...atering-demands.html