09 Jun 2015 11:53 #259044
by Chin
Guyana born...Former England all-rounder Chris Lewis is released from prison
• 47-year-old has served less than half of 13-year sentence
• ‘I made choices. They were the wrong choices and I say sorry for them’
Chris Lewis was sentenced to 13 years for smuggling liquid cocaine in May 2009.
Guardian sport
Tuesday 9 June 2015 09.36 BST
The former England all-rounder Chris Lewis has been released from prison after serving six years for drug smuggling.
Lewis, who was born in Guyana but played in 32 Tests and 53 one-day-internationals for England, was sentenced to 13 years in May 2009 for smuggling liquid cocaine valued at more than £140,000 into Britain hidden in fruit juice tins in his cricket bag. Lewis was stopped at Gatwick airport at 5am on 8 December, 2008, on return from St Lucia.
In an interview with the Professional Cricketers’ Association, he admitted money concerns had led him to commit the crime.
“I became afraid of what the future held, and at that point the thinking went awry,†said Lewis, 47, who played for Nottinghamshire, Surrey and Leicestershire in the 1990s.
“I made choices. They were the wrong choices and I say sorry for them. I’ve had six years in jail and until recently I would still look around and think ‘wow you’re in jail’. That was not part of the plan. I never saw that coming.â€
He added: “Spending all your life at liberty and all of a sudden you are not. Jail on a physical level generally speaking hasn’t been hard. Jail time for most is what you do with your mind. It is a really hard mental exercise to stop yourself from thinking negatively so it’s a constant mental battle trying to find positive cues on a daily basis because 24 hours a day you are a prisoner so essentially you are in your cell you are almost in a goldfish tank.â€
09 Jun 2015 15:46 #259108
Check odda threads in your Haste to sh!t on the Forum
....You woulld find this posted since 9 :00 am on the relevant thread
09 Jun 2015 16:49 #259130
yall notice in various news article, country of birth is only mentioned when some negative news is published! When Lewis was taking wickets it was "England's fast bowler...."
12 Jun 2015 10:22 - 12 Jun 2015 10:30 #259520
From the SB ..
Haha!! Guess Toronto and Hamilton in a different time zone???
Or a different time zone from 'wheel chair Jamaica' or 'soca T&T' ?
Very amusing and definitely not very smart !! ;D
Last edit: 12 Jun 2015 10:30 by
Calypso.
12 Jun 2015 10:36 #259536
Or his buktah ... what people won't do to TRY and make themselves relevant is extraordinary!!!
12 Jun 2015 10:38 #259537
Depends on the Day of Week !! henceforth I will always ask it :
Yuh wearin buktah or G string ???
before the conversation continue ::LOL::
Rally Around West Indies!