batsman Shai Hope has been rewarded for his heavy scoring

11 Apr 2015 10:31 #251037 by chairman
ST JOHN’S, Antigua (CMC) – Rookie batsman Shai Hope has been rewarded for his heavy scoring in the recent first class tournament with a place in the West Indies 14-man squad to face England in the first Test starting here Monday.The 21-year-old right-hander was one of two uncapped players selected in the squad announced yesterday, with fellow Barbadian Carlos Brathwaite also called up.
Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo returns after a three-year absence.

Brathwaite, 26, an intelligent fast-bowling all-rounder, has been on the fringe of Test selection for some time having already turned out in the shorter versions for West Indies.
The squad also sees the return of Guyana leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo who last played in Tests three years ago, but whose prolific wicket-taking in the first class tournament made him hard to ignore.
“It is always good when there is strong competition for places,” chief selector Clive Lloyd commented.
“A few players have been rewarded for the work which they have done, like Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite and Devendra Bishoo, but it will take some time to reach the standard of consistency that we all desire to see from our side.”
Hope, in his first full season of first class cricket, amassed 628 runs from nine matches, at an average of nearly 45, to be the fourth highest run-getter in the WICB Professional Cricket League (PCL).
Of special significance was his 211 against Windward Islands Volcanoes at Kensington Oval last month. The knock was the only double-century of the competition and came on the heels of an unbeaten 111 against Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at the same venue in February.
Brathwaite, meanwhile, also enjoyed a decent season for Barbados, scoring 220 runs and grabbing 19 wickets at an impressive average of 18 apiece.
The right-armer, a handy lower batsman with a first class century and who can also produce explosive spells, has already played one-day and Twenty20 cricket and was part of the ODI squad to South Africa last January.
Bishoo’s new lease on life has come courtesy of his 61 wickets in the WICB PCL, which was the second highest number in the competition.
He grabbed four five-wicket hauls and had a ten-wicket performance – against the Windwards in the last series of the PCL.
The squad will be led by Denesh Ramdin with opener Kraigg Brathwaite has his deputy, and includes the irrepressible left-handed opener Devon Smith whose 822 runs at an average of 54 with two centuries during the PCL made him a straightforward choice, especially in the continued absence of Chris Gayle.
Smith played all three Tests against South Africa recently, gathering only 116 runs in five innings.
Fast bowler Shannon Gabriel was unavailable for selection after sustaining a hand injury during the recent camp.
The series will be the first for West Indies under new coach Phil Simmons and Lloyd said there was a positive mood going forward.
“We have a new coach and we have to give him as much help as possible. He is a very positive guy, he has been successful and he is one of us,” said the legendary former West Indies skipper.
“We had a good chat after he was appointed and we have spent the last few days in further discussions about a number of things, so we are looking forward to see how it all works out.”
West Indies and England square off at the Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in the opening Test before moving onto Grenada for the second contest from April 21 to 15.
The third Test is scheduled for Kensington Oval in Barbados from May 1 to 5.
SQUAD – Denesh Ramdin (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-captain), Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor.

11 Apr 2015 11:04 #251039 by mapoui
Trinnidaddy has been reading my earlier posts on little Jase Holder.  my contention was to turn him into a batsman because he is a passenger as a bowler.  that contention still holds. 

putting him to open is massive though..right, but not right now perhaps, at this minute, because I don't think is mind is there and it wont work for that reason.  I would let him acclimate to the idea den chuck him in.

anyway I would think of that only because deh pik him in the side.  he would not be in any west indies side I picked. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

11 Apr 2015 11:11 #251041 by mapoui
letting Leon Johnson go so quickly is silly.  the young man does have some thing to give..and he looks like a late-maturing player, full of ambition and fitness.  his absence is sad..and for Hope ::confused::
mmmm

Paint as VC ::confused::  better than Samuels, Devon, who else..probably all the rest.  ok! paint did do well as Bim skipper and main batsman.  maybe he can carry it.

Carlos Braithwaite in the side :o :o :o :o :o :o :o  why ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
along with lil  Jase ::confused::  interesting!  why not Russell too ::confused::  if you go over-balance in dat direction den go all the way..fall over and break yuh rarse in the process. 

it makes little sense to fall half way.  fall all the way an' done...bruk yuh rarse completely!

11 Apr 2015 11:14 #251042 by TRINIDADDY
I think there are 4 other Bajans (Paint, Brooks, Dowich, Chase) who averaged higher or hit more tons than Hope in the recently completed domestic series. I think the selectors want to groom Hope as an opener. He usually bats 1 to 3.

Yes, he will turn into a Sammy. He should be turned into a Kallis instead. Kallis wasn't a great bowler, but he was a solid workhorse. He gave you slow, cautious 50s and 100s with the bat, and gave you relatively inexpensive test overs with the ball.

They want a bowler who can bat a little. I would have thrown in a young, pure batsman or spinner. Carlos is Bajan though. He is tight with Paint and he has knack for doing the amazing.

11 Apr 2015 11:15 #251043 by The Captain
This is Mr Smith and master Samuels last dance

Leon turn will come against the Aussies

11 Apr 2015 11:22 #251045 by mapoui
Benn appears done to me, well cooked.  not just yet perhaps to stick a phork in him but its close.

I too would pik Bishoo firs' among the spinners at the moment.  and I tend towards Permaul if I am going with 2 spinners...which makes sense in the west indies at this time.

Splitting up Samules and Bravo makes a lot of sense on Trinnidaddys argument.  so the batting line must be re-organized.  I doubt it will however.

I am also disappointed by Ramdins leadership.  he has turned out to be nothing above the ordinary so far which puts him on par with all the other captains in the side.  he must score and keep well this year or he immediately comes under presshah for his place in the persons of Dowrich and Hope..maybe others too.
that for sure is one reason why Little Jase has been pik.

I don see any reasonable batting order that can be culled from dat group of players.  it is another jackass collection from Lloyd as chairman of selection.  skunt as chairman mus' sign off not so ::confused:: ::confused::

11 Apr 2015 11:31 #251048 by mapoui
well..if the idea is to groom Hope as opener there we go

Paint
Hope,
Darren
Holder/Blackwood
Shive before Samules
Samules..best spot fuh him now
Ramdin
Permaul
Tayrol
Roach
Bishoo

I would love to have seen Rampaul around doh.  I love a bowler like him who can produce the wicket ball at any time.  fit and ready Rampaul is worth a place in this side

11 Apr 2015 11:34 - 11 Apr 2015 11:42 #251049 by mapoui
what deh will do is

Devon and Paint at the top for sure, followed by Darren and Samules, Shive at 5 and Blackwood at 6
no doubt about it
Ramdin at 7...and leave the last 4 to them.  I have no idea what deh will do with Jase, Carlos, the BG spin pair, Roach and tayrol.  Benn too
Last edit: 11 Apr 2015 11:42 by mapoui.

11 Apr 2015 12:31 #251063 by ketchim
Permaul NOT in the squad !

devon Smith will Open !

11 Apr 2015 12:33 #251064 by ketchim
well it certainly appears our 2 future all rounders will be Carlos and Jase.

Russel is at IPL : I think he should have listened to Lloyd whom covet him for TEST !

But he not interested in 5 day !  :-[

www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-leag...t/series/791129.html

Gayle batting with Kohli , now !

Time to create page: 0.246 seconds
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
RileyCan you provide me with the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz)?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
RyleeI am looking for the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz). Can you please provide it?(05.01.2025, 22:05)(22:05)0
Karsyn2023 West Indies vs England test match series(04.01.2025, 20:29)(20:29)0
Lamar