19 Mar 2015 11:28 #247146
Cricketing knights Sir Richard Hadlee and Sir Curtly Ambrose are at odds over the balance between bat and ball in modern one-day cricket.
West Indies bowling coach Ambrose says the World Cup’s rules favour batsmen enormously and reckons bowling machines could soon be wheeled onto grounds as human bowlers have turned into run fodder.
Bigger bats, free hits, flat pitches and smaller grounds all work against bowlers, he said.
However, the former pace bowling great says the sport’s bosses should firstly address the number of power plays, when the bowling side must bring its field in.
“I think presently, it’s grossly one-sided, everything favours the batsmen,†he said.
“If you’ve bowled really tight and they can’t score, then all of a sudden the field comes in. To me, that’s a no-no.
“At the moment it’s all about the batting and if you have no bowlers, you have no cricket. Soon we may have to get some bowling machines.â€
Ambrose and Hadlee held contrasting views at a media event in Wellington on Thursday, two days out from the quarter-final between the Black Caps and West Indies.
New Zealand great Hadlee says the high team scores at the tournament were something to admire, but they were balanced out by some quality bowling performances.
In 41 completed pool games, there were 25 scores of 300 or more.
Hadlee pointed out there were also some low-scoring games and the best bowlers had the ability to overcome the odds against them.
“We’re seeing quality bowlers get wickets so the contests between bat and ball, on the type of pitches we’ve been playing on, have been outstanding.
“You want to be fair and equal and I think it’s panned out to be that way, which is great.â€
Hadlee, 63, took 431 Test scalps, 26 more than Ambrose, 51, but at a slightly higher average.
Hadlee rated South African quick Dale Steyn and Black Caps new ball pair Tim Southee and Trent Boult as the best seamers at the tournament.
When reminded that Australian Mitchell Starc leads the wicket tally, Hadlee conceded the left-armer warranted a rating alongside them.
AAP
19 Mar 2015 13:01 #247173
The opinions of these chaps are influenced by the performance of their respective teams. Hadley is happy cause his bowlers are doing well. (wait until they play in Oz)
Ambrose is unhappy because his bowlers in not in top form and performing below par. The fact that the rules are pro batsmen does not help his team.
Gina145
19 Mar 2015 17:42 #247227
by Gina145
It hasn't been all bad from the West Indies bowlers. What about the game against Pakistan? And Jerome Taylor is pretty high up on the list of top wicket-takers. In one less game he's taken 4 more wickets than Dale Steyn and the same number as Morne Morkel.
20 Mar 2015 09:25 #247340
based on ability, Taylor is still performing below par. He lacks consistency! He is great one game and sub par the next.
Gina145
20 Mar 2015 18:26 #247490
by Gina145
That may be but the same can be said of a lot of players. The game would be rather dull if the same players performed well all the time.
20 Mar 2015 19:39 #247497
That spell by Wahab Riaz was top class.
That was some seriously good fast bowling.
20 Mar 2015 20:29 #247505
I watched the whole spell and it was electrifying. Watson was in all sorts of trouble and when he was dropped you sensed that the moment had gone.
Rowe992
21 Mar 2015 13:15 #247827
by Rowe992
I agree with Ambrose that this world cup was made for the batsmen. The pitches were mostly flat plus with the small venues in New Zealand and the power plays just makes the game all about the batsmen.
21 Mar 2015 14:06 #247864
ambrose has a point. the rules are skewed to favor batsmen. but dat is because of ICC plans for cricket.
but I think that cricket is being made into a form of baseball and the ICC believes that batting and lots of runs will be the greater attraction to their brand of major league cricket for the world.
deh are at least experimenting in this way. they will change the rules to reflect whatever draws the crowds
Rally Around West Indies!