27 Jan 2015 11:45 #237150
The West Indies Cricket Board has confirmed that bowler Sunil Narine has withdrawn from the team's World Cup squad.
The 26-year-old has not featured for the Windies after being banned for a suspect bowling action back in October.
Narine recently turned out for Trinidad and Tobago Red Force following work to correct the issue, but he believes that the World Cup has come too soon.
"After consulting the WICB, for both West Indies and my sake we have decided to delay my return to international cricket until I am 100% confident in all that I do," he said in a statement.
Narine has taken 60 wickets in 39 ODI matches for the West Indies.
27 Jan 2015 12:42 #237158
St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board today announced that off spinner Sunil Narine has withdrawn from the West Indies squad for the Cricket World Cup 2015.
Narine has undergone intense remedial work on his bowling action and preliminary tests have shown him bowling all his deliveries under the 15 degrees flexion allowance. However he requires more time to be able to confidently bowl for a sustained period in international cricket with his new action.
“Playing for Red Force and winning the NAGICO Super50 has been a big boost, but going in to the World Cup is a little too much too soon and, after consulting the WICB, for both West Indies and my sake we have decided to delay my return to international cricket until I am 100% confident in all that I do,†Narine said.
"Whilst I am very happy with the progress made to date with my action, and I express my thanks to the coaches working with me in Trinidad and Dr. Daryl Foster in Perth, Australia, I am withdrawing from the World Cup,†Narine explained.
The WICB supports Narine’s decision to withdraw from the CWC squad as to risk his exposure to the intensity of the Cricket World Cup would be both unfair to him and the West Indies squad.
A replacement will be named shortly.
Narine has taken a positive approach to his remedial work, remains in an optimistic frame of mind and looks forward to returning to international cricket at the earliest opportunity.
“I would like to thank the WICB for their support and wish the West Indies team the very best for the World Cup campaign," Narine said.
27 Jan 2015 13:32 #237163
Fellow Guyanese , old saying " You know wuh "thought" mekk a man do ?
Just Laff at this quasi english moron ::LOL::
27 Jan 2015 13:39 #237167
You have such away with words.
Narine seems to have withdrawn himself as he is not 100% confident.
I have not commented on his action being either good or bad, have I?
The issue was your double standards when he plays for the Amazons compared to other teams...
It is fact when someone resorts to name calling, they do not have the command of the English language.
Your brilliance shines through each time.
27 Jan 2015 13:52 #237171
Lemme just complete the Guyanese saying :
poster Mail "
thought he wanted to Fart : Did so , but ended up sh!tting his pants "
That about sums up your view and posts here ...
27 Jan 2015 15:23 #237195
Muddies should change their team name from Warriors/Jaguars to Mangoes!
they getting pelt out by pelters all over the place!
They win the games against real bowlers! but they can't handle the pelters!! ::LOL:: ::LOL::
27 Jan 2015 15:42 #237201
deh riping ::confused::
if mango not ripe wat yuh pelting them for ::LOL::
who does pelt green, sour mango :
you googs ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::