21 Dec 2014 16:12 #229990
Carlos , Carter and Tarzan will be by his side :
4 bajans in the ODI XI : Good for this game :-*
21 Dec 2014 16:13 #229991
I endorse his captaincy too.
I jess know WI nah win ODI series against SA and dem not getting beyond first game in round 2 of world cup.
21 Dec 2014 16:45 #229995
I agree. When you out of favour it's bad. This fellow been posting decent returns in dung heap and deserves a lil run.
22 Dec 2014 08:08 #230062
I can see the WICB following AUS with a long term view towards a youngster being a long term cappo ... one educated and hopefully with a cricketing brain if he has chosen that path.
I can also see WICB using this as getting rid of Bravo for the India walk out.... and rightfully so .......
Then there is the politics with the WICB and choosing a Bajan given the upcoming WICB elections ....
So for the moment I'm sitting on the fence re their choice, but hey I like Holder so gwaan yute !!! .....Good luck and I hope you don't turn out to be another Sammy !!!
22 Dec 2014 08:19 #230064
When the WI team was picked for the tour they named 5 fast bowlers - Roach, Taylor, Cotterell, Gabriel and Holder.
So what logic would the selectors apply to include Peters ahead of Gabriel or Holder.
But then again we talking bout West Indies where logic is not known to apply.
22 Dec 2014 08:39 #230065
Given the ODI squad that was picked Holder is about as good a candidate as anyone else.
The senior players are Benn, Deo, Gayle, Ramdin, Samuels, Simmons
Benn - he is a head case and they would never give it to him
Deo - he is there but his place is not assured
Gayle - we all know why he would not get it
Ramdin - he should get it but politics seems to preclude that
Samuels - strange character. As captain of the T20 Hawksbills he was once asked why he chose to bat. His answer was so strange I concluded that he had some mental issues.
Simmons - in the selectors minds he is not captaincy material.
Having ruled out the "senior" players Holder seems a decent choice.
But he does have a mountain to climb given the strength of SA. As for the world cup WI should get out the group but I can't see them getting beyond the first game in the knockout stages. I have them down to finish in the 4th spot in group B which means they play the A1. So that could well be Australia v West Indies at Sydney. If they pull that one off then they would have succeeded in the tournament regardless of what happens after that.
22 Dec 2014 08:56 #230069
I am deadly serious.
It was the New Zealand commentator (Danny Morrison) who asked him the question. When Samuels finished giving his answer all Danny could do is mumble something and return to the guys in the booth.
I had never in my life heard anything like that!!
Jason Holder say WI need to "build momentum before World Cup"
Time to create page: 0.209 seconds