Cook's World Cup captaincy in doubt

13 Dec 2014 10:43 #228265 by chairman
(REUTERS)Alastair Cook's role as England captain for next year's World Cup was cast into doubt when head coach Peter Moores said his position would be reviewed after the team's current one-day series in Sri Lanka.

Cook was last week named as skipper of a provisional 30-man squad for next year's tournament in Australia and New Zealand but has continued to cut a beleaguered figure at the helm of the one-day side.

The 29-year-old has averaged under 18 with the bat as the tourists slipped to a 4-2 series defeat in Sri Lanka with one game remaining.

"We review everything at the end of every series, we've always said that," Moores told Sky Sports when asked if Cook would be captain at the World Cup.

"We make no bones that we're passionate to try and get our best side to go out and win a World Cup. Cook needs runs but he's also had some great times as an England player. He's in a tough patch at the moment but that's something he's working hard to get out of."

Cook's performance during England's 90-run defeat in the sixth one-dayer on Saturday typified the form that has led to a growing number of critics question his captaincy and his place in the team.

He dropped a routine catch off Kumar Sangakkara, on 41 at the time, and the left-hander went on to make a game-changing 112. The England captain scored just one run before succumbing to the second ball he faced.

Cook still believes he is the man to lead the side for the Tri-Series against Australia and India in January and the World Cup.

"We came into today with some high hopes so it's been a frustrating day all round, and days like these don't make the job any easier," Cook said.

"Not scoring the runs I'd like is not a great place to be as a captain. You want to lead from the front and when it's not happening for you it's incredibly frustrating. I'm a better player than I've shown at the moment and I've just got to keep going."

13 Dec 2014 11:25 #228281 by mapoui
wat took dem so long..... >:( >:(
he will lose the tes' captaincy too...soon :(

• Mail
13 Dec 2014 12:11 #228287 by Mail
The issue with England is more than Cook.

Others are failing badly but this SL tour has given some youngsters a chance.

Cooky is a good Cricketer going thorough a really bad patch.

Best wishes to him.

13 Dec 2014 15:26 #228296 by mapoui
Cookie is not a good captain.  england must look for one. relieved of the captaincy Cookie might revert to a heavy scorer although he might have passed his peak as a batsman

14 Dec 2014 00:39 #228337 by dillinger10
I hate this comment by Moores. Make a decision and stick with it. Personally, I wouldn't have Cook in my ODI team based on current form but given that he was already announced as the captain in the provisionary squad, there should be no turning back at this stage. This type of speculation doesn't do anyone any good.

14 Dec 2014 00:44 #228338 by dillinger10
Both Cook and Morgan are really struggling right now which is putting huge pressure on the rest of the lineup to score runs.

There was some discussion during the wrap up among the commentators as to whether Moeen Ali would make the final XI as all agrred that Tredwell is England's best spinner and they felt it unlikely that England would go into the World Cup playing two spinners.

14 Dec 2014 06:18 #228349 by TRINIDADDY
I say let Broad captain the ODI and test teams. Cook seems very negative and defensive, in terms of his body language and tactics. I would drop Cook from the ODI team, and let him continue opening for tests.

14 Dec 2014 08:49 #228352 by mapoui

Moores is a dope..from start to finish.  deh mus' like him bad to bring him back after the Petersen imbroglio.
I don't like cricket head coaches anyway.  deh shud abolish that position

14 Dec 2014 14:40 #228399 by dillinger10
This is my preference also. Broad captains the t20 team so he would be a logical choice to replace Cook. I would have gone with Morgan but he is struggling with his form also.

The older members of the squad (Cook, Bell and Morgan) have all struggled while newer members such as Root, Taylor and Moeen Ali have been England's best run producers on this tour.

14 Dec 2014 15:00 #228401 by ketchim
Joe Root for Skipper .

Heck , Kane skip for Kiwis today !

Time to create page: 0.226 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Chana