01 Nov 2014 14:03 #221527
Cover story
Shiv on the shore
One day Khemraj "Cowfly" Chanderpaul got vexed. He was a fisherman and a talented cricketer living on the northern coast of South America
near where the Mahaica river drains into the Atlantic.
The thing that vexed Khemraj was that in his village club team other guys were not making runs
01 Nov 2014 14:17 #221529
"So I say, 'Man, look there's nonsense goin' on now. I think it's time for me to start trainin' me son.'"
01 Nov 2014 14:26 #221531
Guyanese have a saying:
"One one dutty build dam."
Dutty, a bit of earth; dam, a mud bank.
That is a Chanderpaul innings
01 Nov 2014 15:03 #221533
He told me of a challenge he once issued a local cricket luminary on the sidelines of a match at Everest Cricket Club in Georgetown.
"I tell he, 'Man, carry the kid (Shiv) out on the pitch, and choose any one of you bowler.
If they hit he, is me fault, is me expense.'
The guy make excuse, say the kid is little and thin and all kinda excuse he makin', and I say,
'
Man, in India and Pakistan from the time they born, they play cricket.'
Right, so cricket don't have little and small."
wowtgp
02 Nov 2014 01:16 #221560
by wowtgp
Classy pic! I wonder how you guys manage to play some Cricket on beach.
02 Nov 2014 09:18 #221580
~~
We must play Carl and Shiv
That's how we have to live
For us to win this game, banna
Guyana must combine
Hooper and Shivnarine
This match is make or break, banna ~~
Shiv On The Shore !
Time to create page: 0.226 seconds