27 Sep 2014 14:03 #215536
Forget about Glory days, Population size , what Lara said et cetera:
You DONT have the Talent ?? : as we say in Guyana
"yuh cork duck "
zacaroni
27 Sep 2014 14:10 #215538
by zacaroni
So WI don't have the talent? We used to have too much talent. So why the downturn?
27 Sep 2014 14:15 #215540
UWI Sociology department of Studies may have a better explanation.
From what I am hearing Cricket is NO longer Da game
cause everyone back in the 70s and early 80s HAD those stats as bowlers and batsmen.
Another reason may be our training ground : England Counties are no longer !
zacaroni
27 Sep 2014 14:27 #215547
by zacaroni
Well that's one reason I kinda gave, that cricket was no longer the main activity for young boys. Not even close.
27 Sep 2014 14:37 #215551
Even IF Cricket returns to the # 1 spot in the Caribbean
even If we bring in a Franchised based system between Islands;
Playing against ourselves is ZERO gain.
England County shut us out : and we never got a replacement !
27 Sep 2014 14:39 #215552
For example the Board never pursued Ranji cup in India, Sheffield in Oz ,
whatever South Africa regional league is, et cetera.
No idea why !
zacaroni
27 Sep 2014 18:21 #215588
by zacaroni
There are some people Ketchim, Derrick Murray I think is one that disagrees with the notion that WI cricket benefitted greatly from county cricket.
Rowe992
27 Sep 2014 19:39 #215595
by Rowe992
Well the West Indies needs to go back to its test roots and focus on creating good test teams. The region has a lot of players in the short form of the game but I think they need to play more test cricket to develop proper cricketing technique.
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days?
Time to create page: 0.219 seconds