CRICKET GREATS: The ELITES Were Early BLOOMERS

25 Sep 2014 09:35 #215047 by Rev Al
There are 2 kinds of greats in cricket. The ELITE greats and the ORDINARY/statistical greats. The Elite greats are those who were the best in the era they played in and interestingly all the elite greats were early bloomers. They made their mark on the cricketing world early in their careers.

EXAMPLES OF EARLY BLOOMERS:

* Sobers scored his 365* in his 17th test.

* Richards scored 1710 runs in his 3rd year(1976)---a record for most runs in a year at that time.

* Lara scored his 375 in his 16th test,

25 Sep 2014 09:40 #215051 by ketchim
"The Race Is Not for The SWIFT  but for He who endureth to the end "  ;)

Jesus was quoted as saying:

But he that shall endure unto the end, the same shall be saved. (Matthew 24:13)

25 Sep 2014 09:55 #215058 by Rev Al

PERCEPTION IS REALITY.

* Look at Richards---he dominated test cricket in 1976---scored 1710 runs.

* HE WAS PERCEIVED AS A GREAT.

* But in 100 tests after 1976 Richards averaged only 46.47.

* But he was an early bloomer. Greatness was bestowed upon him early in his career.

* It is true that the race is not won by the swift, but the swift is perceived to be the winner by the masses. ;D

* Like I said:

* PERCEPTION IS REALITY.

25 Sep 2014 10:06 #215063 by mapoui

all perceptions are ultimately proven one way or the other. 

perception is not fact but impression.  an impression ie either right or wrong or some combination of both.  times clears up all that.

25 Sep 2014 10:17 #215064 by ketchim
Yeah , these bible thumpers speak with forked tongue !  :-[

25 Sep 2014 10:28 #215066 by Rev Al

* Facts are verifiable truths, but most people don't care about truths. It's the impression in their minds, their perception, that matters to them.

* HERE IS A FACT:

* Shiv Chanderpaul has scored 11,684 runs in 158 tests at an average of 53.10 with 30 hundreds and 65 fifties.

* Based on facts Shiv Chanderpaul is a cricket great.

* But greatness is a PERCEPTION for many, and because Shiv is a turtle at the wicket, he is not perceived as a cricket great by some. But the fact is he is a cricket great.

* THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE---PROPLE LIE.

* And people lie because they are mislead by their perceptions/impressions.

25 Sep 2014 10:55 #215081 by Rev Al
RE: EVERTON WEEKES

* In his first 7 test matches back in 1948 Weekes scored a world record 5 consecutive hundreds: 141 vs England and 128, 194, 162 and 101 vs India.

* Weekes also scored a world record 7 consecutive fifties between his 4th and 9th test: 141, 128, 194, 162, 101, 90, 56

* WEEKES WAS AN EARLY BLOOMER.

Link to stats

25 Sep 2014 11:08 #215087 by Rev Al
MORE ON EVERTON WEEKES

92.85 Weekes average in 15 tests against India and Pakistan---the Bangladesh of his day
45.54 Weekes average in 33 tests against Australia, England and New Zealand.

OBSERVATION:

* Looks like the great Weekes was a subcontinent bully. ;D

25 Sep 2014 11:12 - 25 Sep 2014 11:33 #215090 by mapoui

lying occurs for more reasons than that.  but I honestly do not remember anyone I know not regarding shive as a great batsman. 

Shive does not command the imagination as a batsman.  Kanhai did... as a great warrior who cut down our tormentors all around the world especially in Oz and England people by the devils who enslaved us and indentured us.  Kanhai not only cut  down our enemies but did so like heaven sent him to do it with all the flair and style that inhabits the west indian soul...like our music displays, the way we dress, walk, sing, dance, the food we prepare that must not only look good but taste goo and contain the most fresh and healthful ingredients.

Kanhai will never die for that reason.  he is passed along the generations in story by all the generations who lived him acting like a collective Griot, handling with love, care and awe, a story that cannot be lost..a story we cannot afford to loose.

it is the same with the W's, Richards, Lara, Butcher and Sobers.  none captured the imagination like those magnificent, true champions, who embodied the spirit.. almost the totality of spirit,  a new people in the world held dear, came walking into history bearing. 

but these champions do not happen alone.  there must be a supportive cast, the selfless who make the flair of Kanhai and Lara possible.  if its not Hunte it is Gomes and Shivenarne.. and all who played that role in between. without them, the supports... nothing is possible.  Shivnarine Chanderpaul is the very greatest of all of that type, a basic building block without which nothing stands upright

somebody must sing their praises, currently, today in Shives case... not when they are gone and their value remembered too late.  We must Sing Shive's story now, for him to hear and know of his appreciation in the social base.

I know allyuh bias but I would not have it any other way because through you all Shive can hear and see his reflection in a positive way, know his story is known fully, and embedded in the record, in the minds of the people

I can hear and deal with allyuh bias, tell allyuh about it.  and at the same time I can see whats true in it and appreciate its value..appreciate the job allyuh doing by keeping in our faces the contributions of a very great west indian..unassuming, quiet, not full of Kanhai flame but competent to an extreme degree, excellently efficient and cumulatively extraordinary.  that too is greatness.

the west indies cant be against you all for celebrating Shive, keeping his flame alight as we are drawn like moths to the flamboyant, the fi'ah, the embodiment of the style that captures the imagination as represented in 'the great bastmen'.  you all are doing a fine job.. no doubt about it making sure we know that Shive also is great.  but I have to keep allyuh in line too, honest: keep allyuh to allyuh task. help allyuh to streamline, be more accurate.  what allyou do you see, is also a historical record...Griot!  it must be right as possible, in need of little revision as the years flow....
Last edit: 25 Sep 2014 11:33 by mapoui.

25 Sep 2014 11:20 - 25 Sep 2014 11:36 #215094 by mapoui

Weeks in england in 1950 seems very instructive to me..a reflection of his class at the time.  but not in Oz.  I don't take west indian performance in Oz as instructive save in the positive.  if our players did well I multiply by 2.  if not I discount, pay no heed.

we never got a fair umpiring shake in Oz..while we may have gotten a better deal in england though not always.  for eg: the umps and english batsmen May and Cowdrey conspired to neutralize Ramadin in 1957

and it was the same in the west indies.  west indian umpires all those of west Indian white and Chinese descent were truly unfair to west Indian batsmen at home.  and the social climbing black ones were too.  there was nowhere in the world west Indian batsmen had it fair when it came to umpiring.

their records must be looked at carefully with regard to historical officiating reality internationally and at home.. both west indian batsmen and bowlers.  nothing was/has been ever in their favor
Last edit: 25 Sep 2014 11:36 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.184 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Ella