Was virendra Sehwag an all-time great batsmen?

22 Sep 2014 08:51 #214372 by Calypso
Flat track bully on home soil ......... not in the same league as players like Dravid who remains my #1 Indian player in recent years !!!

22 Sep 2014 09:06 #214375 by Rev Al

* Dravid was a statistical great----13K+ runs at a 52+ average

* But take a look at Dravid against teams with genuine quicks---Australia, South Africa and England:

* Actually Tendulkar is the only batsman in Indian history to average 50+ against Aus/SA/ENG---he averaged 50.67 in 86 tests against those 3 countries.

22 Sep 2014 11:10 #214411 by Googley
Veru is/was another stand and deliver batsman in the mold of Gayle and to some degree, Viv Richards.  They depended heavily on hand/eye coordination.  This works well in the early years but as the reflex diminishes, so too the success rate.

Why do you think Viv's average dropped to low 40s during the last 9 YEARS of his career?  Thanks to the thrashing he put on the mediocre England in 76, etc his average survived the 50 mark when he ended his career. 

22 Sep 2014 18:52 #214599 by mapoui

I cant agree googs.  I watched a lot of Richards...Richards had strong technical pedigree.  ask Trevor Bailey if you could...or the old great commies who are in retirement now.  they will tell you abut Richards technique.

as I have said before when Richards decided to play defensively he had few equals.  he bat became a barn do so broad it was.  twice I can recall immediately Viv save west indies stonewalling. 

I remember whats his name..Jenkins ::confused:: ...english commentator remarking on it and being told by Bailey that " Viv is not usually called upon to play defense, to use his overall technique for anything but attack. which was why we never saw it..  but he has it"

Viv got old for cricket very fast that's all.  it happens!

22 Sep 2014 18:59 #214600 by mapoui

Rev yuh is ah hard man!  dat is nutten to sneeze what you putting dong deh.  is 11 tons yuh know.....11!

and a 43 average!

how it end up 43?  was it high to start with and dropped down to respectable 43 with age ::confused::

tell us! ::confused::

• bala24
22 Sep 2014 22:16 #214611 by bala24
I don't hate viru but not that i don't love his play too,but he doesn't qualify as a "GREAT" batsman.He was a entertainer but outside the sub cont he has been pathetic,not even a 40+ for a opener is horrendous.
He really is one of those awesome entertainers on a flat pitch.

22 Sep 2014 23:22 #214615 by Kyle
He is an opener, has AMAZING strike rate, has 2 triple centuries. I don't even know how that doesn't make him one of the best Indian batsmen.

And oh, of course there are flaws - but you could say that about ANYONE in that list.

I don't even know how you compare across eras, but whatever criteria you use, Sehwag SHOULD rank as one of the Indian ATGs.

• bala24
22 Sep 2014 23:52 #214622 by bala24
Two triple centuries on a flat track dude..
All his records have come on the Indian or sub-pitches.
He is a good batsman...and we should leave it at that probably.The term ATG doesn't fit him for what he has done...but he really was a great entertainer..You second me on that.??

23 Sep 2014 14:29 #214765 by Googley

what you mean Viv got old for cricket very fast?  9 years, Maps!  how do you explain that ?

23 Sep 2014 14:57 #214773 by Rev Al

* In his last 8 years in test cricket, Viv Richards played in 63 tests. He scored 3823 runs at an average of 44.97 with 9 hundreds and 25 fifties.

* Viv was an early bloomer---he did his magic early in his career and then lived on his reputation.

* Players like Shiv are late bloomers----Shiv averaged 44+ in his first 12 years in test cricket and  has averaged 71.71 in his last 8 years----and looks like he can average 71+ for another 8 years . :D

Time to create page: 0.242 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Kyree