Sir Frank Worrell the greatest of them all

15 Sep 2014 08:15 #213099 by chairman
Before he became a “Sir,” Frank Worrell used to give real, real trouble.
Imagine a contemporary West Indies cricketer, in his very first year in the regional side, refusing, on his own, to go on a tour because he wasn’t being paid enough. Think about a star player of the modern era leaving his homeland and making it public that he was doing so because of the narrow-mindedness and insularity, not just of the ordinary folk, but of the influential, privileged class who were doing very little to promote Caribbean integration, politically as well as socially.
Consider for a moment what would be the reaction if a nation, swept up in the euphoria of a significant achievement and therefore a sense of its own importance, were to be openly admonished for their imminent expression of chronic short-sightedness by a former West Indies cricket captain living in another island.
Frank Worrell was a rebel, but with a cause. That cause was not merely the unity and strength of the West Indies on the cricket field but, infinitely more importantly, the unity and strength of the territories of the then British West Indies. That he was able to further that objective through his inspirational leadership of a collection of talented cricketers and laid the foundation for the unprecedented dominance of the West Indies that was to follow (under him, then Garfield Sobers, then Clive Lloyd, then Viv Richards) makes him, surely without question, the greatest West Indies cricketer ever.
In the midst of this 500th Test, a so far tedious and thoroughly uninspiring affair at the Beausejour Stadium here in St Lucia, it is almost too easy to lapse into a lengthy lament over what has become of the legacy of Worrell, of George Headley before him and the more recent all-conquering force spearheaded by the likes of Andy Roberts, Malcolm Marshall and Curtly Ambrose.
But no. Not today. Let us appreciate Worrell in the little space that remains, not through my words, but more authoritative sources who recall a moment of history when one cricketer, a fine exponent in his own right (he had a batting average of 49.48 from 51 Tests and 54.24 in 208 first-class matches) played a pivotal role, not only in reviving Test cricket at a time when the game was as tedious as what we’ve been enduring in this series against Bangladesh, but in the gradual disintegration of a racist mindset and a racist policy of an entire nation.
When the West Indies arrived in Australia at the end of 1960 under the leadership of their first fully-appointed black captain, that nation’s immigration system was governed by legislation loosely described as the “White Australia Policy.” As the Australian Prime Minister during World War II, John Curtin, stated: “This country shall remain forever the descendants of those who came here in peace in order to establish in the South Seas an outpost of the British race.”
In its commemoration of the 40th anniversary of that historic 1960/61 series, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation produced a television series entitled Calypso Summer. The narrative on the ABC’s website in support of the programs is informative:
“The Australian public embraced the visiting West Indian cricketers and took them to their hearts...the social significance of this reaction, is that this support and affection for a team of predominantly black cricketers, occurred in an era when the ‘White Australia Policy’ was still in existence...the West Indian players speak about their experiences in Australia and the fact that they were accepted and loved wherever they went, and that the colour of their skin was never an issue.”
And here’s the critical point: “Opponents of the ‘White Australia Policy’ used the Australian public’s adoration of the West Indian cricketers as a signal that the time was ripe for change and more enlightened national policies dealing with issues of race and immigration.”
And that’s not all.
When it was all over, tied Test, thrilling battles, exciting cricket and all, the West Indies, in a land where non-whites were not particularly welcome, were given an unprecedented send-off:
“Two days later, over 500,000 people crammed into the city streets of Melbourne to farewell the West Indies team. The honour of such a tickertape farewell was unprecedented...Here we had a team of predominantly black cricketers, in a country whose laws at the time would not permit them to be accepted as citizens, the team that actually lost the series, being accorded a hero’s farewell, a parade fit for Presidents, Prime Ministers and film stars.
“One newspaper headline read ‘THEY LOST THE SERIES BUT THEY WON AUSTRALIA’.”
And Frank Worrell, before the knighthood, was central to all of that. As a cricketer, as a man of the Caribbean, he was unique—the greatest of them all.
By Fazeer Mohammed
FIRST PUBLISHED IN TRINIDAD EXPRESS

15 Sep 2014 13:36 - 15 Sep 2014 17:45 #213180 by mapoui
'Good work Fazeer.  this is brilliant, timely..by no means unworthy of the great men of whom you write'

is Fazeer holding himself down drinking soup from wicb drips ::LOL:: ::confused::

would Faz himself be a great journalist/commie if he struck out on his own, speaking and writing his mind as he went  ::confused::

its worth a try methinks.  Faz is good under all his commie inanities  on the air, conforming to the status.  he wont starve I am sure but what is life for anyway, save to realized oneself totally, regardless,courageously.

'you may have raised a challenge fuh yuhself Faz, with this very good piece.  maybe you did it too well, revealing qualities in yuhself that do not coincile with soup drinking.  we all await your ansah,

:D :D :D
Last edit: 15 Sep 2014 17:45 by mapoui.

15 Sep 2014 14:00 #213184 by Googley

What irks me is these fcukers always ignore Kanhai and his contribution to WI cricket.  After Sobers was Kanhai, the man who restored discipline to the WI team.  He took the WI team and beat England in England after a long time!  Kanhai credited Worrell as well for his knowledge/discipline of the game.

But these fcuking WI writers think WI winning ways start with Lloyd!  >:(

thats a disgrace to the record of Worrell.

15 Sep 2014 14:11 #213187 by mapoui
oiiiiiee! googley....  write what yuh want to see out there yuhself and post it up..here..send it to the papers etc >:( >:( >:(

15 Sep 2014 14:14 #213188 by Googley

did the truth bother you, eh Maps? 

15 Sep 2014 14:21 #213191 by mapoui
no impse! 

but obviously writers don't think like you do on the subject where Kanhai is concerned.  so if your point is important, a positive addition to the store of insight into the period then who can write it if they don't see it?

its you who see it so research,  make as powerful a statement as you can muster and send it about to where it can be published

• Mail
15 Sep 2014 17:25 #213234 by Mail
For me, Kanhai was the first of a kind, the original master blaster, an innovator with shots not seen before, natural talent plus his fantastic character made him a complete package.

He is the greatest thus far, for me, followed by Lara. Wish I had seen Headley.

Sir Frank is not his kanhai's class but an effective batsman. With great character and gravitas Sir Frank was a good choice as Captain and one of the very few I have the utmost respect for.

Sir Frank will always be a historic figure and that is a fact of history.

17 Sep 2014 09:30 #213484 by mapoui

I have to reconsider Fazeer a lil bit on a second reading of his contribution above....

that lead sentence above is a big nod to soup drinking and quite unbecoming of Faz.  the article immediately morphs into a good accounting of Worrell's concerns, his struggle for ordinary west indian causes, his fight for democracy which was amazing for his time.

yes I am no done re-reading this article.  I was precipitate yesterday in rushing to crown Faz with good intentions.  I pull right back and will do a final read later with as good analysis as I can muster. Faz has a bad soup-drinking problem. and it looks like he is developing greater proficiency at it

>:( >:(

17 Sep 2014 09:47 - 17 Sep 2014 09:53 #213487 by Googley

its not about Kanhai.  ITs about the reality of WI cricket history! 

Worrell was responsible for helping to mold both Kanhai and Sobers, both of whom went on to captain WI.  History showed us that the disciple returning to the team after Kanhai took over was the start of the rise to glory.  This disciplinary move by RBK was much due to Worrell's influence.  This trait was also passed on to Lloyd, who played most of early career with Kanhai and Sobers.

So u see Mappie, Worrell's appreciatation was short changed by the writer leaving out part of the WI history in his rush to lick soup!  >:(

Last edit: 17 Sep 2014 09:53 by Googley.

17 Sep 2014 09:58 #213491 by Rev Al

* Because Rohan Kanhai and Shiv Chanderpaul are East Indian West Indians, :D their contribution to Windies cricket will never be fully acknowledged and appreciated.

But always remember googs, it's what you think that matters. Never give a rat's a$$ about what others say or write or think.

If you believe Kanhai was a GOD, then that is your right, and don't make no man change your beliefs. :D

Time to create page: 0.234 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Kathleen