06 Sep 2014 13:36 #211287
by ramesh
Botham , Arrogant Englishman speaking from pure jealousy. He cannot come to terms with the fact that non whites created something great as the IPL
06 Sep 2014 23:10 #211414
by Kyle
Well you'd hardly expect him to say any different surely?
Either way we all have our own biases I suppose. Botham has a point, but he also does exaggerate a lot and blow things out of proportion.
07 Sep 2014 07:41 #211428
well that is the whole point about it Beefy..baseball!
does Botham realise the visions of sugar plums dancing in dem fellas heads ::confused::
07 Sep 2014 07:44 #211429
power is only power when people bow down to it. all the boards have bowed down to the IPL. Indian money is now master of cricket. better get used to it.
humans doh care whats good for them only whats in 'my pocket'
::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
07 Sep 2014 08:24 #211431
I found Botham's 5-0 whitewash of Australia before the last Ashes crass, ill informed, arrogant and quite idiotic, not least for the fact our form leading into that series was suspect, at best. However if you are aware of Botham's chartitable activity where he has tirelessly raised millions of pounds and some knowledge of his general characted, you may take a more balanced view.
Botham is prone to these things and has nothing to do with his nationality as if we had to judge all West Indians on you Ramesh we would end up with an incorrect pretty dim view. However without a tit for that situation rather to demonstrate how ex players are media whores, there is no bigger media whore than Vivian. In India he says what he has to say then he does teh same in Australia during teh BB etc.
Botham is an independently wealthy individual and I do not think he would be ruing the fact the IPL was not around in his day. He is a very outspoken but a very giving and charitable man.
In terms of the imbalance of power and Botham having a point (Kylester) I could not disagree more.
We have held Cricket power for over 130 years and at time with the Australians and I have not seen any more misappropriation of this power than we had ourselves. We are just not used to seeing any other Country have this influence and perspectives judge events differently and not always in the best light.
It would be in the interest of India and Cricket that their substantial influence is used for the good of all and I see no impropriety thus far.
Ramesh it is good to see you back, alive and kicking so hopefull this time around you can make some valuable contributions, as I am sure you are capable, instead of the gutter bits.
"IPL shouldn't exist" - Botham
Time to create page: 0.219 seconds