02 Jul 2014 21:09 #199655
by Rohan99
So I have just watched a sports commentary program on my local tv station and the commentator was calling for Otis Gibson's sacking amidst the recent series defeat to New Zealand. He was saying that winning the world t20 doesn't make Gibson immune to the axe. He said that the WICB removed Sammy as captain because of the poor record he has but are not so quick to remove Gibson as coach. What do you guys think? Should Gibson be fired immediately or should he be allowed to continue?
02 Jul 2014 22:47 #199659
`Gibson shud have been fi'ahed 3 years ago. its late but not too late to axe his skunt.
but the pointg is that he is a Tom who fits the requirements of the new Bureaucracy that is the wicb. he and Buttsy. deh wont let Gibson go easily..unless hey have another Tom lined up
02 Jul 2014 23:09 #199664
by Kyle
LOL everyone's been crying out loud for that series after series. T20 WCup alone is the only silver lining in his otherwise terrible tenure.
I would rather the team have no coach and save some dough rather than having someone for namesake.
03 Jul 2014 08:38 #199674
The team has not improved under his watch. So yes, it is time for a change.
The man was England's bowling coach but he has done nothing for the WI bowlers.
When you look at the number of "backroom staff" that the WI have that's a lot of wasted money.
03 Jul 2014 10:15 #199710
Rohan 99 ,
I need that LINK you read or saw that .
Sports Journalists in the Caribbean are Inept soup drinkers....
hence I gotta see that to believe....
03 Jul 2014 10:57 #199735
am' deh have the gall to actually call it journalism >
03 Jul 2014 11:30 #199751
Correct is right !!! .... all of them, Fazeer, Cozier et al ...
However, I see Cozy attempted the other day to say something albeit with 'guarded words'
03 Jul 2014 11:40 #199757
by Rev Al
* The WICB will drop Ramdin as captain before they fire Otis Gibson as coach.
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTCtgv36bUtveWbU2qQvlmm3bYJsAfBPLO26Ro_3UvWxWvjvQ9qHQ
* Looks like Otis has worked some kind of voodoo magic---he cannot be fired---no matter how many series WI loses.
* Anyway, Otis role in WI cricket is to make sure Shiv never players one dayers again.
03 Jul 2014 11:43 #199758
i PROMISED TO LEAVE WEST INDIES CRICKET IF THEY DID NOT FI'AH oTIS.
LOOKS LIKE HE GO FORCE MIH TO KEEP MIH WORD. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
03 Jul 2014 11:51 #199760
by Rev Al
* The only reason I follow WI cricket is my favorite player Shiv is still playing.
* I saw Shiv play his first test---20 years ago---hopefully I'll see him play his last test.
* Anyway, once Shiv retires I will follow the WI team as closely as I follow Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.
RE: GIBSON
* Karma will deal with his a$s.
Sports journalist caling for Gibson's sacking
Time to create page: 0.185 seconds