1st ODI: Australia v England at Melbourne

12 Jan 2014 01:16 #172763 by DownUnda
Jos? Short for Joselyn or Josephine?

12 Jan 2014 01:24 #172764 by DownUnda
Finally de Zimbabwean is out, McKay gets his third

• rashidckk
12 Jan 2014 02:34 #172765 by rashidckk
Most probably this will be an easy chase for Aussies.

12 Jan 2014 07:57 #172773 by DownUnda
Damn I fell asleep btwn innings break and missed de chase

Finchy was huge, becoming the first Victorian to score an ODI ton at MCG in just 108 deliveries

• Mail
12 Jan 2014 09:56 #172777 by Mail
Kylester,

I follow most of the lads closely but his constant failures have excluded him for now.

We need all the firepower we can muster so if he is improving then great.

I think there is a marked step up from IPL, BBL, CPL etc to Internationals.

He has had 48 ODIs with a less than modest record.

12 Jan 2014 13:11 #172789 by DownUnda
what a powerful bloke this Fincy is, wow

Hometown hero's 121 helps Australia to six-wicket win

The list of Australian top-order batsmen who have feasted on England’s hapless bowlers this summer has now grown to include nuggetty Victorian opener Aaron Finch.

www.cricket.com.au/news-list/2014/1/12/m...-odi-series-game-one

• alexmax
12 Jan 2014 16:39 #172818 by alexmax
Cooker is in a Pressure Cooker now...... his batting is woeful in this series. Really, some miracle is needed to turn the screw back.

• senji
12 Jan 2014 21:29 #172887 by senji
Cook looks like he's just given up completely. 320 probably would not have been enough.  Really happy for Finch.  Saw him a few years ago in the Big Bash and thought he had the making of a good one day player.  Happy to see him fulfil his talent. Looked like he went full in with that hug on Clarke after his century!

• Mail
13 Jan 2014 06:58 #172898 by Mail
senji,

I agree. Very unfamiliar territory for him and many of the lads. We have had some great successes from 2005 but he seems broken. However I cannot say much different for Clarke when they we here last summer and beaten 3-0.

This is the beauty of this wonderful game.

• senji
13 Jan 2014 16:49 #173042 by senji
Yeah I think that's fair enough Mail. Clarke was also coming in after not playing at all in the champions trophy, and despite some close matches in the English Ashes series, Australia seemed down.  But I think it would have been much worse for Australia is Mickey Arthur was still coach, especially after homework gate.  We got a different coach, and a different spirit, and there was always this feeling, at least from the Australian side (or at the very least just me) that the contest was on even after the first series loss.

Maybe that's what England need? Although I have to say when England came over here and trounced the Aussies was truly remarkable, especially with the preparation Flower and England put into it.  England have some talented up and comers in Jordan, Ballance and some others, and their test players -when in form- are some of the world's best.  I can see them coming back from this, especially as there now is something to gain, rather than retain.

Time to create page: 0.213 seconds
TalonDozens of white South Africans arrive in US under Trump refugee plan(12.05.2025, 19:57)(19:57)0
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
Aldo