Banking on Gayle & Co - Coach expects IPL players to lift WI in India series

28 Oct 2013 08:23 #160249 by chairman
MIAMI, Florida:West Indies head coach Ottis Gibson is expecting the West Indies Indian Premier League (IPL) stars to play a massive role in helping the team to a positive result on the subcontinent, when the regional team faces India in two Tests and three one-day internationals in their upcoming series.

Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Darren Sammy are some of the top Windies players who ply their trade in the cash-rich Twenty20 IPL, and Gibson is mindful of the value of their familiarity with India conditions.

"It's going to be massive. Those guys that are familiar with the conditions have a responsibility to pass on the advice to the guys that are new. We have Sheldon Cotterell going, he went with the A Team to India, but didn't play. He has recovered and will make the trip for the first time," Gibson said.

"Shane (Shillingford) went on the last tour, but didn't play, so there are some guys that are new to Test cricket and that area. So it's the responsibility of the experienced guys to get these players up to speed, talk to them, use the opportunity when we are travelling to talk to them about the fans and conditions that are to be expected," added Gibson, who singled out the usually passionate Indian crowds to be a major factor, especially considering the tour was put together to celebrate the 200th Test match of Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar.

strong names

"We have a lot of players, Chris (Gayle), (Darren) Sammy, (Dwayne) Bravo, (Sunil) Narine, who are forging strong names for themselves in India in the IPL, and so a lot of our guys are familiar with the conditions. This is probably Shiv's (Shivnarine Chanderpaul) fifth trip there, so once we get out there, we are going to go about ensuring that when you look back at the history of Sachin's 200th Test, hopefully, you will see that he didn't get a 100 and that the West Indies won the Test match," Gibson smiled.

"The passion of the Indian fans comes over to the cricket, so we need them to help the less experienced players to stay calm when the pressure hits because there will be pressure around the occasion itself," Gibson said, before underlining the importance of the series as a marker of his team's improvements.

The West Indies, who will open their tour with a warm-up game starting on October 31, are coming off six Test wins.

However, none have come against a team ranked higher than themselves, leaving Gibson eager to gauge the team's real level of improvement. It's an opportunity that India, and later on New Zealand, are sure to provide.

"This challenge now against India gives us a great understanding of where we are as a team, and when we move on against New Zealand - another tough opposition, especially at home. They showed that against England, and we know we have to up our game in India, and also in New Zealand," said Gibson.
jamaica-gleaner.com

28 Oct 2013 09:27 #160263 by mapoui
there goes the skunt again..Gibbo!

and if they fail to deliver this time again wat...more tantrums ::confused::

but will the tantrums this time be worse, higher on the 'ricter' ::confused::

pheeeeeew!  deh might as well walk with some meds fuh Otis >:(

28 Oct 2013 09:29 #160266 by ketchim
Opisss has once again demonstarted he knows NOT :

the difference between 20 overs and 5 days TEST cricket ...

Banking on IPL can only cause Bankruptcy  >:(

28 Oct 2013 09:31 #160268 by ketchim
Counting on Shilly and Cotterel who did NOT play but was warming the Bench :

demonstrates that Opiss needs Prybus WHIP !  :(

28 Oct 2013 09:54 #160280 by ketchim
T20 cricket is an exhibition while Test cricket is an examination

according to Clive Lloyd.

28 Oct 2013 10:02 #160282 by Googley
and we all know that this bunch of West Indians,except Shiv don't like the examination part!

28 Oct 2013 10:30 #160298 by ketchim
These chaps prefer to hand in the exam paper after 20 overs .

Shiv tekk yuh time and still looking to continue after 90 overs on day 1 !

Therein lies the difference between Pass and Fail  ;)

28 Oct 2013 15:45 #160397 by ketchim
Gibbo dont care about beatdungs ...300 K U.S $$ per annum !

on a 3 anuum Contract :

No Link to Performance  ::)

• Robblogs
28 Oct 2013 16:09 #160398 by Robblogs
Chris Gayle is no doubt one of if not the best player on the team so he is not wrong going with that premise. I hope they win for real though.

28 Oct 2013 16:22 #160399 by ketchim
Chris Gayle already recorded 2 Triple TEST centuries...

wayyyyy b4 IPL  ::)

Time to create page: 0.226 seconds
ketchimLost the final Game but win series 3 games to 2 !(05.05.2024, 12:27)(12:27)0
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
Ezekiel