10 Nov 2012 10:22 #110564
www.counterpunch.org/2012/11/09/inhale-r...ty-exhale-the-truth/
For forty years they have assumed that the cultural world of the United States is to their advantage.
[/size]
[/size]Hatred of the outsider and of women distinguished their social view. Theirs is the rhetoric of freedom and liberty papering over, lightly, a politics of suffocation. The main word was No: no to this, not to that, no to a woman’s right to dignity, no to the unfurling of the full personality of the outsider; no to the social wage: public transport, public schools, public health care, public welfare, and of course no to getting high.
[/size]
[/size] This election revealed that beneath the votes for this or that political party lies a social landscape that seeks real freedom: the votes for gay marriage and for medical (and recreational) marijuana tell us that the days of the Preachers’ aura in the polling booth are soon to be over.
10 Nov 2012 10:49 #110565
I have held a similar view about the system in the USA :
This Election has exposed their inability to grasp the obvious !
Changing Demographic with the immigrant , the Lobbyist groups
of womens equality , Gay and Lesbian rights and dealing with the overly wealthy .
10 Nov 2012 10:57 #110569
IT also baffles me when Taxation becomes the main source of generating :
Revenue !
America should increase the Tax on the above 250 K earners at a :
Progressive rate of taxation ...
with say , a 4 year Moratorioum ...
10 Nov 2012 11:00 #110570
During that period , GET innovative and competitive :
with international cost of Labour !
The Unemployed will work for a humble paycheck..!
10 Nov 2012 13:00 #110581
#1 this was to show a Hindu progressive opposite to the one we established as universal Hindu, and lamented as chauvinist and impervious to inclusion of and concern for others
by that principle Sainath should be talking mother India not socialist universality. but he is...and for a long time. thats mostly what his life works has been organised around
#2 I don't think the problems can be solved by any form of taxation, no matter how progressive. any income tax is negative always, unfair and illegal..theft.
AGAIN: DEBT IS THE PROBLEM. ONCE DEBT BECOMES THE BASIS OF AN ECONOMY IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE OUR CURRENT STAGE IS ACHIEVED. DEBT ENSURES THAT ALL LIQUIDITY AND ALL FORMS OF WEALTH ACRUES TO THOSE WHO LEND MONEY AND HOLD DEBT.
AND ONCE MONOPOLY, CONCENTRATION IS ACHIEVED THERE IS NO WAY TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS SAVE TO ARREST ALL THE BANKERS AND THROW THEM IN JAIL, WRITE OFF ALL DEBT, ESTABLISH A PROPER FINANCIAL SYSTEM IN WHICH MONEY IS CREATED AND SPENT AT NO INTEREST, BY THE ACCEPTED AUTHORITY OF THE DAY.
IN SUCH A SYSTEM NO INCOME TAX WILL BE COLLECTED..NONE NEED BE.
THERE WILL BE NO INFLATION AND IF DEBT IS ALLOWED IT MUST BE STRICTLY CONTROLLED ENSURING NO USURY CAN TAKE PLACE. AN INTEREST RATE FIXED AND PERMANENT COULD BE MAX 2.50 PER ANNUM PER HUNDRED, OR THOUSAND.
THAT'S ITS. NO COMPOUND INTEREST
10 Nov 2012 13:51 #110584
WATS YOUR POINT?
there is no solution to this save human slavery, extinction by war and bullshit scientific experimentation or social revolution in which debt based economy becomes irrelevant.
back in the day as in old Rome for eg. it was one country, one small empire. today its the planet and the whole world involved.
Rome declined, europe went dark...died and started over at some point to come back to where they were today.
there s no where to go today. so what will you do?
let me quote this for you..not verbatim: the last such report revealed the following distribution of american profits earned over the last relevant year...the rich 1% 93%. the 99% 7%
so you see where we are at..almost at economic constriction.
see where Sainath asks or poses: what becomes of the people? that's what I have been asking here long time
I hope yuh not in dreamland. remember the concentration camps built all across america..remember the police state being built everywhere.
now!! what was your question again!?
10 Nov 2012 14:06 #110586
I dont ask questions , I provide answers. History repeats it's self , that is the natural order of things. All throughout recorded history , the 1 percent controls the destiny of the 99% and there is nothing we can do about it
10 Nov 2012 14:19 #110587
Your # 1 point was to assume that the writer Sainath is Hindu . Typical stereotype