17 Sep 2012 11:31 #101668
Salman Rushdie’s Booker Prize-winning novel ‘Midnight’s Children :
tells the story of modern India :
through the life of a man born the day his country became independent from
British rule.
Many thought of it as unfilmable, ...but not Deepa Mehta :
whose adaptation of the novel for the silver screen is set for worldwide release
on Nov. 2.
17 Sep 2012 11:33 #101670
well I dont know! and yu know dat!
but I wun vote fuh him fuh nutten...for the same reason. I think he is a kind of traitor.
I am no fan of religion but if I have to blast my religion and culure I do so at home, in the social process. with the people as audience..with a view, point and purpose of social improvement.
I am not going expat and write there contemptuously of my own... fuh ah western audience that only looking to wipe my people off the globe.
wat is dat then if not traitor......?
wat is there then, to like about it..and about Rushdie? :

: :

: :

17 Sep 2012 11:36 #101671
Do you think as Indian artists living outside of India , you see things about the country more clearly?
Deepa: I don’t know if I see it more clearly. I definitely think it’s a different perspective. For the longest time even the thought of myself as being outside India was anathema to me because I never really left India emotionally.
But since the “Water†debacle, it’s given me a distance which I really like and it’s looking at it differently.
It’s not looking at it in a better way or a worse way.
It’s just that my vision got shifted a bit and I like that shift in vision.
I feel it’s a true representation of myself as the way I am .
17 Sep 2012 11:41 - 17 Sep 2012 12:18 #101675
well Edward Said has a lot to say about the exiled perspective as an artist..and a side of it that comes form actual existence in exile..living in exile in cultural exclusion..for you are not of where you are exiled and unlikely to be included ever.
you are on the outside looking in....
purpose I guess is all..what you are about ideologically...in actuality.
if your stand is in solidarity with the interest of the majority, starting with your own mass, no matter where you are located relevance is yours as an artist..as simply human.
if you are a panderer to the expat reality, its elites and elitist culture... then you are a tom and a traitor, and irrelevant period!
Last edit: 17 Sep 2012 12:18 by mapoui.
17 Sep 2012 12:12 #101689
well I have done what I have..and do what I do. my intent is not to be a traitor.
thats the best I can say for me!
for whatever interest my life may hold for anyone in time..for no one I am sure... I will bee seen for what I have been..what I was.
I leave it there as I must :cheesy: