Meet Exxon’s Rex Tillerson, Trump’s Choice for Secretary of State

• Alien
14 Dec 2016 14:34 #329116 by Alien
Meet Exxon’s Rex Tillerson, Trump’s Choice for Secretary of State
By CLIFFORD KRAUSS

Rex W. Tillerson, a conservative known to be a quick study and a decisive leader, has spent the past 41 years at the company now known as Exxon Mobil. Credit Sergei Ilnitsky/European Pressphoto Agency
Rex W. Tillerson, the chief executive of Exxon Mobil, was offered the job of secretary of state by President-elect Donald J. Trump on Tuesday.

It is the latest instance in which Mr. Trump has tapped an executive from corporate America for a high-level cabinet position. Mr. Tillerson, 64, whose extensive deal making for Exxon has plunged him into global politics, is a conservative known to be a quick study and a decisive leader.

He is a Texan by birth, with a twang to show for it. This is what else you should know about him.

1. What does Mr. Tillerson know about diplomacy?

Mr. Tillerson has spent the past 41 years at Exxon, where he began as a production engineer and went on to strike deals for a company that explores for, buys and sells oil and gas in some of the world’s most troubled corners.

Mr. Tillerson has needed some sharp diplomatic skills. He has worked with leaders of numerous countries, including Nigeria and Qatar, and Exxon has been dominant in many countries, including Equatorial Guinea and Sudan. He has long had friendly relations with President Vladimir V. Putin of Russia.

Of course, being a representative of a corporation and being a secretary of state are very different. Mr. Tillerson will now face a fuller range of issues, from human rights to strengthening NATO and other alliances to brokering a peace deal between Israel and Palestinians. He is a supporter of free trade who has acknowledged climate change is a challenge, but his opinions on most issues are not known. He will have a lot of thinking and learning to do.

Without foreign policy experience outside his business dealings, Mr. Tillerson may have to take more instruction from State Department experts and direction from the White House. He will need to exert his authority early on.

“He’s much more than a business executive,” Mr. Trump said of Mr. Tillerson in an interview with Fox News on Sunday. “He’s a world-class player.”

2. Isn’t his relationship with Russia a concern?

Several senators — including John McCain, Republican of Arizona, and Marco Rubio, Republican of Florida — do not think a conciliatory relationship with Russia is a good thing, considering the country’s aggression in Ukraine and its friendly relations with a Syrian government that is killing its own people. (There is also the question of whether Russians meddled with the United States election.)

But Mr. Tillerson may take a different approach than he has during his time at Exxon, which relies on Russia for much of its international business. Exxon has various joint ventures with Rosneft, the state-owned Russian oil giant, and American sanctions have stymied Exxon’s ability to drill in the Arctic and in Siberian shale fields.

How Mr. Tillerson would view Russia’s continued meddling in Ukraine, in other neighboring countries or in Syria is not clear. Perhaps his rapport with President Putin would help smooth relations, but to what end? Would the Kremlin be willing to moderate its behavior in exchange for simple sanctions relief? Or would President Putin simply become more aggressive? How would Mr. Tillerson respond to that? And if the United States does improve relations with Russia, what would that mean for the Syrian conflict, in which Russia has actively intervened? There is no way of knowing yet.

3. Can Mr. Tillerson confront dictators?

He has in the past. Shortly after he took the helm of Exxon a decade ago, Hugo Chávez, Venezuela’s socialist president, moved to nationalize the assets of nearly two dozen foreign oil companies. Most chose to negotiate compensation arrangements. But Exxon took Venezuela to international arbitration court and won a $1.6 billion compensation package in 2014. Then Exxon mobilized a serious exploration effort in Guyanese waters claimed by Venezuela, angering Caracas.

Again, though, his prior negotiations concerned energy issues that he knows well. It is not known how tough he would be on political affairs he is less familiar with.

4. What is his position on climate change?

His record is mixed. He veered Exxon away from the climate skepticism it had displayed under his predecessor, Lee R. Raymond. At the same time, he has aggressively defended the company amid investigations by several state attorneys general who alleged the company hid research while publicly opposing policies designed to curb global warming and the burning of fossil fuels. Mr. Tillerson has backed a carbon tax and research to advance carbon capture, sequestration and biofuels.

Will Mr. Tillerson try to persuade Mr. Trump to support the international climate accord reached in Paris? He might, but he would probably stress the importance of natural gas and methods to bury carbon emissions — policies that would not hurt fossil fuel industries.

5. How will he protect human rights?

The most concrete glimpse we can get is Mr. Tillerson’s handling of gay rights. A former Eagle Scout, he served as national president of the Boy Scouts of America from 2010 to 2011, when the organization still maintained a ban on gay scouts and scout leaders. Nonetheless, Mr. Tillerson has pushed the organization to be open to gay rights. In 2013, as he served on the executive board, the Boy Scouts voted to lift the ban on gay scouts.

But under his leadership, Exxon has been slow to adopt explicit policies protecting gay employees from discrimination, and it has come under fire for it.

• Alien
14 Dec 2016 14:35 #329117 by Alien

Trumpet . Interesting times lies ahead. ::confused::

14 Dec 2016 16:39 #329125 by SCA
Alien, don't know who you are...use to be a regular poster here sometime back. I Check in every so often.

Whatever can be said about DT, he is an interesting man. And however poorly he contested the elections, I am pleasantly surprised by some of the moves he is making in selecting his cabinet.

14 Dec 2016 22:52 #329150 by mapoui

15 Dec 2016 07:52 #329157 by raisa
He will steal oil

15 Dec 2016 14:49 #329198 by ketchim
Rex is a Vladimir Putin guy !

as a matter of fact he still has investments in russia oil wells.

Putin is winning !!!!!

and the white sumpremacist dreams are coming through !

15 Dec 2016 14:56 - 16 Dec 2016 00:46 #329200 by mapoui
dat deh ketchim..is like the Illuminati story and the devil Baphomet deh make fuh black people in the entertainment industry dat have dem totally hook..wild conspiracy made real

all dat missing from dat white theory of yours is an empty throne to be filled by Dr David Duke as the final piece to fall in place
:P :P
Last edit: 16 Dec 2016 00:46 by mapoui.

15 Dec 2016 15:01 #329201 by mapoui
den again deh had a black entity in charge I still doh know wat the hell Obama is

were he fuh real he cud have done like basketball/football..the federal civil service etch..simply take over...make it black period. 

but Obama hated black, nig nogs... and did nothing of the sort, giving Putin a chance to advance his  white theory ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

15 Dec 2016 15:12 #329202 by ketchim
LoL : the master of conspiracy theories Mapoui
soooo caught up that when a real theory hits him : he cannot see it !  :P

15 Dec 2016 15:19 #329204 by ketchim
hahahaha ! Pull de sanctions : grab American technology

dem russia oil wells drying up.

need to drill NEW ones using America ...hahahaha  ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.272 seconds
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
ketchim1st TEST : 6>30 EST....this evening ....Australia time is tomorrow lol(16.01.2024, 17:01)(17:01)0
chairmanWest Indies U19s clapped up New Zealand U19s in the warm up game.

Nathan Sealey, Joshua Dorne and Jewel Andrew the star turns.
(15.01.2024, 07:42)(07:42)0
ketchimMatch Draw but 105 to DaSilva and 99 to Kavem Hodge.....so good warm up match result !...(13.01.2024, 13:15)(13:15)0
Ariyah