Rohan Kanhai is greater than Bradman

krishna · 03-18-2013, 05:18 PM · 2 people reading this discussion

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=78324.msg488785#msg488785 date=1363700230]
Boqui
Bradman played over 70% of his tests in Australia..at home, on Oz pitches, in front of Oz audiences.
he creamed India in 1947.  do you have any idea how weak India was in 1947?
against west indies in 1931 he scored a 223 and a 152.  yet west indies had their moments against in that series, bowling him down cheaply at least twice in.  Bradman batted about 6 times in that series and did not score well at least 3 times..at home in Oz.
Early in that series he could not deal with George Francis of Guyana...then Constantine and F R Martin got him.  then in the fifth test which west indies won, second innings with the game on the line, Bradmans stumps were spread-eagled for nought by Herman Griffith.
in 2 innings of that series Bradman scored a double and a big ton.  otherwise he was well contained and controlled by west indies pace
his double was scored at some exhibition ground in Brisbane.  his big ton was scored at Melbourne.  wherever the conditions gave them even the semblance of a chance west indies pace contained, beat and out Bradman for low scores
at home in Oz Bradman also creamed the Saffies who were also not good at the time.  when he got pace in his rass from Francis, Griffith and Constantine he tended to wilt.  later on in the Bodyline series he did not score as he had been doing previously and afterward.
those factors are bound to be decisive even if Bradmans average was 100 perfect..playing most of his career at home and in england..never having to cope with all the conditions of the world... the problems of travel, food etc.
Bradman must have been good to have averaged 99. I do give him something. 
headly was very high too which average was brought down by playing in his old age.  worrell also had a humungus average which was also very diluted by playing well into his later years.
then again the question of wet wickets..a very serious question in those days of uncovered wickets.  Bradman always failed when challenged by unusual conditions which suggests that outside of england and australia  he would have had a hard time
the more I look at Bradman I see feet of clay...a one-off kind of freak
Your points are well taken and you obviously know more about Bradman than just about anyone around here Smile

One of my points about (quality) pace bowling is that by and large it will trump batting.

Lara is a great but in 96/97 I see that his scores in Australia were 26,44,2,1,2,2,9,78,32. And I think that you can look at any (good/great) batsman and if they came up against a great set of fast bowlers their numbers do not look good.

Cook is a good batsman but in the 3 test series last year his scores were 115,0,24,46,7,3.

All I can say is that there is something freakish about Bradman's average that I think cannot be explained away by where he played his tests.

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=78324.msg488992#msg488992 date=1363731688]

are you sure...they took griffith in 1963.  there were all kinds of controversy around and with him.

They certainly was.  A relentless campaign was waged in the english press with the chief complainer being Ted Dexter.

[quote author=boquiesse link=topic=78324.msg488704#msg488704 date=1363639240]
Allyuh mad yes Smile

no we are not. He is our Bradman Wink

Undoubtedly the most stylish, lethal and technically correct batsman ever to emerge from the west indies, whose exploits on the cricket field were hailed all over the cricketing world.

Corentyne had Thunder  ???.... thought that was Edgar Mittelholzer book title !

and the name of PPP newspaper

[Image: 51P0escxaLL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg]

[quote author=boquiesse link=topic=78324.msg488704#msg488704 date=1363639240]
Allyuh mad yes Smile

no we are not

To put Bradman's dominance into perspective, during his career, top order batsman (1-6) posted a collective average of 39.99. Bradman was a staggering 149.91% above average.

For comparison, Kanhai's average (47.53) was 25.07% above average (38.00).

A few other notable WI names and numbers:

Player          % Above Avg
Weekes            62.04
Walcott              59.07
Sobers              56.67
Headley            56.21
Lara                39.56
Worrell            37.71
Viv                    35.97
Chanderpaul    32.32