WHATEVER our differing views on Carnival, one thing we can agree on is the heights of happiness that the festival engenders at all levels of the society. There is hardly a sourpuss left scowling as the music, the visuals and the spirit take possession of our beings, commanding us to listen, to look, to sing along, to dance and, most of all, to laugh and be happy.
If I may paraphrase English poet Sir Walter Scott, I ask, “Breathes there a Trini with a soul so dead, who never to himself has said, this Carnival is mine, even if I cannot wine?†Not surprisingly, such wretches (Scott’s terminology—and mine!) do exist. I am not referring to persons who stay aloof of the bacchanal because of their religious beliefs, or those who, on moral grounds, condemn its carnal contents. I may not agree with them, but I accept their right to not participate or partake.
East Indians are 232,104 (49.54%)
Africans are 346 (0.08%)
Caucasians are 27 (0.34%)
Chinese are 175 (4.37%)
Indigenous are 302 (21.66%)
Dougla are 2,738 (2.70%)
Mixed Other are 2,466 (1.23%)
Portuguese are 8 (0.96%)
Syrians are 0
Others are 46 (2.02%)
Ethnic Identity Unknown are 1,887 (2.29%).
So officially, majority of the Indians are non-Hindu for the first time in the history of T&T.
Who are these indigenous? How come 21% of them are Hindus? Also how come the Chinese more Hindu than the Dougla?
Quote:The Caribs of Arima are descended from the original Amerindian inhabitants of Trinidad; Amerindians from the former encomiendas of Tacarigua and Arauca (Arouca) were resettled to Arima between 1784 and 1786.
The SRCC was incorporated in 1973 to preserve the culture of the Caribs of Arima and maintain their role in the annual Santa Rosa Festival (dedicated to Santa Rosa de Lima, the first Catholic saint canonised in the New World).
The SRCC is headed by its President Ricardo Bharath Hernandez and maintains a leadership role among indigenous organisations in Trinidad. The community is also the base for the Carib Queen (currently Jennifer Cassar).
The Amerindians were relocated to open their lands for settlement by the influx of French settlers brought in by the Cedula of Population and to separate the indigenous people from the newcomers
What I can't understand is how 21% of them are Hindu?
I noticed in the 2002 Census of Guyana also. There were thousands of Amerindians who reported themselves as "Hindus". Weird!
Is it possible that in Guyana, some of the East Indians by mistake filled their census form as "American Indian" ?
For example, in the Amerindian majority Morawhanna (Region 1), there are only 2% East Indians, but 17.4% is Hindu.
In Yarakita-Korosaima Creek (100% Amerindian - Region 1), EI is 0%, and Hindu is 16.9%.
In Matthews Ridge - Kaituma Railway (85% AI - Region 1), EI is 1.5%, and Hindu is 12.8%.