[quote author=ketchim link=topic=63618.msg468409#msg468409 date=1356622943]
Factoid # 1 : Sammy was thrusted into Captaincy by his Countrymen in an abuse of
power unheard of since the inception of West Indies Cricket ....he was given an
annualised CONTRACT instead of a tour by tour basis, meaning that regardless of
his performance he is still Captain :

Factoid # 2 : Sammy is without merit and Undeserving of a Leadership role with 11 men
Factoid #3 : Sammy has fathered multiple child muddahs ...
Mapoui , Who is getting emotional ??
Should Sammy lead 11 moral Guys some of whom are non Afro :wink:
PLUS be a role model for non afro Youth Cricketers ??
jACKIE gRANT was made captain of the west indies early 19 thirties..what sort of social example was that?
because he was white it was alright?
his brother Rolph after him was made captain unjustly in 1939...again the example?
in 1948 an ungodly mess was made to deny Headley, a black man, the captaincy. and John Goddard was made captain in 1949 through 51. again example?
after goddard there was stollmeyer, a justified pik on experience. but in 1956 stollmeyer got injured and dennis atkinson was captain wiht the 3 W's in the side. wasnt that a terrific insult..and awful eample to set.
then even worse..Aleaxander with 2 tests to his name was made captain in 1958...with walcott and weekes in the side.
then there was a battle royal to get worrell in and for a while things went according to merit. but we have come full circle with blac men in charge who have put in Sammy..a bad example to set.
but when Richards had the captaincy he helped to make Richardson captain which was also a bad example. but the regional cricket power was in antigua and they took advantage of that fact.
so we still have an insular aspect at play in west indies cricket that establishes that when the power resides in any one territory it is their time to make hay with the team.
so the old way replete with all manner of exploitative and unfair crap is still in place...riight?
which is exactly what I am arguing. and because of it nothing changes, no one gets better socially..the society iself phucks us all up. and as long as that social dispensation remains in place we will be as bad as we are.
which means when Indos get the power they will do the eact same as whats goes on now. you ketchim makes all this noise but BUT WHEN INDOS TAKE OVER IT IS LIKELY TO GET HORRIBLE FOR BLACK MEN IN CRICKET AND SOCIALLY IN THE REGION...WORSE THAN IT HAS EVER BEEN
there is no positive democratic, inclusive west indian tradition informing the west indian people. there is no west indian strugle for democracy that educates people how we ought to be living, how to get to such a reality,how to struggle for it, to create it. all we know is all the slave, indenture and colonialist bullship we have always known, full or race and racism and all manner of social division.
TALK ABOUT THE WHOLE SOCIETY AND THE WAY IT IS. NO ONE CAN CHANGE THEIR REALITY EXCLUSIVE OF SOCIETY...AND LIVE OUTSIDE THE SOCIAL REALITY WE HAVE. WHERE WILL THEY GET THE EXAMPLE FROM...WHO TEACHING THEM THAT ETC.
TO PICK ON BLACK PEOPLE IS SILLY, RACIST..WHEN THE WHOLE SOCIETY IS BACKWARD, ILL, BUSTED UP.
FOR A WEST INDIAN TO SINGLE OUT BLAC PEOPLE IS FOR That west indian to think they are ok and only blac people are not.
THAT'S UTTER NONSENSE...INDOS FOR EG..WEST INDIAN INDOS...ARE WELL PEOPLE, OK PEOPLE, SANE AND BETTER THAN BLACK PEOPLE?
DID I HEAR DAT RIGHT........?
ALLYUH BETTER WAKE UP..KETCHIM BETTER WAKE UP FOR THAT IS EXACTLY WHERE HE IS COMING FROM