my wife cud not cook water if she boiled it in a pot. the fus' meal she made fuh me was pure hell..... smoked herring that was brine itself. she loved west indian food
but I ate it and licked my lips. oh guuuuuuuuuuude! :

: :

allyuh tink we tes' an dem easy :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
but it was no concern to me because I liked my own food. I have a an excellent hand when it comes to cooking and I wanted no other food but mine. it was just that way with me.
I was always looking to make a fine meal for myself, and looking for the ingredients to do so in shops in Toronto....and Trinidad even before. I cud not pass a food shop that looked anyway different, interesting, exotic..prepared food or grocery..that I did not look into. I could not pass them straight
and if I liked a food I would not stop until I could make it myself..the way I wanted it. I can make all kinds of food now..emphasis on ALL!
over the years my wife became the same way. she became an excellent cook till I was embarrassed one day when I made a roast tomatoes choker and my kids said "Moms choker is better!"
with my over-confident self I had asked dem... 'allyuh like dat choker!!! ::confused::'
'Mom's choker is better!'
oh guuuuuude! ego 'dephlation'! [size=14pt]
WHAT!!!!!!!![/size]
oh well.
what happened is dat she used to hang with some west indian indian women who showed her directly. she was very interested in cooking as I said and she took to it like duck to wartuh.
it was the same with roti and curry and in time I forgot about cooking . she became very good just like that...as natural as daylight rises in the mawnin...no prompting or anything of the sort.
the early key is that I cud cook, loved to cook and cooking for my family was no problem at all. all flowed as it did from dat