The Ramayana

ketchim · 10-19-2011, 11:03 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

How many Ramayanas

Three hundred ?

Three thousand?

At the end of some Ramayanas, a question is sometimes asked:

How many Ramayanas have there been ? "

Question of the late poet and scholar AK Ramanujan of the Indian epic

in a compelling essay he wrote for a University of Pittsburgh conference in 1987.. Confusedhocked:

Though Valmiki's Sanskrit poem Ramayana is the most influential among Indians,

Ram's story is available in at least 22 languages, including Chinese, Laotian,

Thai and Tibetan.

any of these languages have more than one telling of the epic.  Confusedhocked:

[Image: _56145499_56145497.jpg]

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=57456.msg368865#msg368865 date=1319207997]
Y'all read this book as children in Berbice ?  :undecided:
Wait, them people in G/T don't read this? Explains alot!

You answering the Question wid a Question  :Rolleyes:

Cappo .....was this tale told to you in Enmore ?

Nargis....yuh nana tell you dis one ?

C'mon guys.....doan be shy  ::redface::

Ketch, you are missing out on the great teachings from the Maha Brahmchari, Shri SCA!  you should be seeking knowledge about the Ramayan from him.

my nana was arya samaj - he said all of these things were stories.

Yet he knew about them...he told me so many that i cant remember some of them

Ramayna , a book of reverence  and ,  reference