Why Australians Should Not Be Too Harsh On Warner

zacaroni · 11-14-2016, 11:22 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

zac dont have access to Pybus.

wat does pies have to do with OZ harshness to Warner ::confused::

let dem squeeze Warner.  dats good. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

As usual, Garfield gets it right. You can't have it both ways. The paragraph below sums it up perfectly.

Quote:[T]his was the same Warner that is often praised for having an aggressive approach. This was the way he played more often than not. His first instinct is always to attack. He has been immensely successful over a number of years with this method and his team has benefitted enormously.

The line between success and failure can be immeasurably thin. The difference between the ball that hums to boundary and one that takes the edge is a matter of inches. If you accord high acclaim to the highly successful attacking batsman, then you have to be willing to forgive the odd indiscretion.

Just to put Warner's performances into perspective.

Warner's median score is 29. For reference, 30+ is considered elite. A sampling of fellow Aussie's: Steve Smith's median score is 31. Hayden 31. Ponting 28. Langer 27, and Michael Clarke 23.

Warner's runs per innings is 46.60. Smith's RPI is 49.51. Hayden 46.88. Ponting 46.61. Clarke 43.65, and Justin Langer 42.29.

And comparisons to three fellow contemporary openers: Sehwag's median score is 31. Graeme Smith 29, and Alastair Cook 27.

Sehwag's runs per innings is 47.70. Smith 45.20, and Cook 44.24.

It should be noted that there is some bias at play in that the numbers will favour Warner due to a smaller sample size to pull from. But even still, those are some impressive numbers.

[quote author=dillinger10 link=topic=107008.msg719953#msg719953 date=1479232153]
As usual, Garfield gets it right. You can't have it both ways.

I concur ! This is like as we say in Guyana : Evil Eye  :-[

Quote:Warner flung his head back in despair when [size=10pt]a ball[/size]  :
hit his [size=10pt]hip[/size]
ricocheted off an [size=10pt]elbow[/size]
onto his [size=10pt]stumps[/size]

Quote:It should be noted that there is some bias at play in that the numbers will favour Warner due to a smaller sample size to pull from. But even still, those are some impressive numbers.

deh are impressive numbers.  that was plain to see..right now their best batsman

so as i said...''let dem squeeze his rarse''  more fun in my cornah where it becomes easier to explain skam an' pie bus squeezing Darren...right out of west indies team ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

warner is a guy that you pay to watch bat