Only child of Patentia cane-cutter, seamstress tops UG

krishna · 11-15-2015, 12:53 PM

[Image: Sachin2.png]
AS a boy, Sachin Ramsuran’s father took him on occasional visits to the canefields.Far from being leisurely strolls, those trips were meant to teach the young Sachin a lesson: study hard, or join his father in the back-breaking work of a cane-cutter.
Sachin chose to study hard, and Sunday he graduated as Valedictorian at the University of Guyana, having read for a Bachelors’ Degree in Electrical Engineering for which he scored a perfect 4.0 GPA.
Sitting on a wooden chair under his parents’ bottom-house, he told us his story – one of humility, dedication and hard work.
He was born to a Diaram Ramsuran, a cane-cutter who admits that he doesn’t know to read or write, and Karmawatie Ramsuran, a part-time seamstress who was never afforded the opportunity to attend secondary school. The three live at Plantation Patentia, West Bank Demerara.
His father recalls that at a tender age, he would take his son to the “backdam” to witness the tedious work he did. He would often ask him in typical Creole refrain: “yuh go guh school or yuh want to end up like me?” The reply would be: “No daddy, me want go school.”

good show.  lessons well learned! Big Grin Big Grin

that is the reason BG have the Academia !

that simple test of showing the kids :

back breaking cane cutting wukk... ::LOL::

His story  is not special . This is typical in Berbice.

true but lets be proud of him.

It is also a different era ..

kudos to uncle Diaram and aunty karmawattie  8)

hes a nice looking guy as well.

his parents should be proud.

good lesson and good question asked to him by his father.

[quote author=~Nargis~ link=topic=101347.msg664132#msg664132 date=1447698526]
hes a nice looking guy as well.

his parents should be proud.

good lesson and good question asked to him by his father.

aren't you married :Smile :Smile :Smile

ahhhh mapiou i am not dead to the world.

i only complimented that hes a nice looking guy which is the truth....but i dont want him lol

i have my man ...and hes a star in my eyes  Big Grin

jess pulling yuh leg.  I understood. I can read unlike some here ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::